Java-Gaming.org    
Featured games (91)
games approved by the League of Dukes
Games in Showcase (580)
games submitted by our members
Games in WIP (500)
games currently in development
News: Read the Java Gaming Resources, or peek at the official Java tutorials
 
    Home     Help   Search   Login   Register   
Pages: 1 ... 4 5 [6] 7 8 ... 14
  ignore  |  Print  
  State of Profit  (Read 43546 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Offline counterp

Senior Member


Medals: 11



« Reply #150 - Posted 2011-08-05 20:20:23 »

No more new buses for me Cry

1  
2  
3  
4  
5  
6  
7  
8  
9  
10  
11  
12  
13  
java.lang.NumberFormatException: For input string: "1813125442255371312553892265"
   at java.lang.NumberFormatException.forInputString(Unknown Source)
   at java.lang.Long.parseLong(Unknown Source)
   at java.lang.Long.parseLong(Unknown Source)
   at com.stateofprofit.client.m.d.ah(Unknown Source)
   at com.stateofprofit.client.a.a.a(Unknown Source)
   at com.stateofprofit.client.a.a.a(Unknown Source)
   at com.stateofprofit.client.a.h.af(Unknown Source)
   at com.stateofprofit.client.o.d.a(Unknown Source)
   at com.stateofprofit.client.a.b.a(Unknown Source)
   at com.stateofprofit.client.a.g.a(Unknown Source)
   at com.stateofprofit.client.b.c.a(Unknown Source)
   at com.stateofprofit.client.b.c.run(Unknown Source)
Offline Riven
« League of Dukes »

JGO Overlord


Medals: 605
Projects: 4
Exp: 16 years


Hand over your head.


« Reply #151 - Posted 2011-08-05 20:21:13 »

Yes, that's the same problem I'm having. You just have to wait for the world-reset.

Hi, appreciate more people! Σ ♥ = ¾
Learn how to award medals... and work your way up the social rankings
Offline h3ckboy
« Reply #152 - Posted 2011-08-05 20:22:39 »

why when I clicked on my station to choose it, it says "choose another station". Am I only allowed a certain number of buses per station
Games published by our own members! Check 'em out!
Legends of Yore - The Casual Retro Roguelike
Offline Mike

JGO Wizard


Medals: 69
Projects: 2
Exp: 5 years


Java guru wanabee


« Reply #153 - Posted 2011-08-05 20:44:45 »

I noticed the same regarding "Cannot find path", apparently I put path to null sometime (meaning that it thinks it cannot find it). I'll look into it later.

I might, might, might, have a basic version of reputation in the game at the reset (no more stealing roads without consequence).

Regarding facebook: If I cannot get enough visibility of the game by myself I've considered walking that path Smiley

Riven: I really hope it's the obfuscator... I'll maybe print something else along as well to make sure it works.

Kind regards,
Mike

My current game, Minecraft meets Farmville and goes online Smiley
State of Fortune | Discussion thread @ JGO
Offline Mike

JGO Wizard


Medals: 69
Projects: 2
Exp: 5 years


Java guru wanabee


« Reply #154 - Posted 2011-08-05 22:50:35 »

The server is reset! You can still use your old accounts.

New feature, reputation! You cannot see your reputation with cities yet but it goes something like this:

The first player to build a station in a city gets 200 reputation, everyone else gets 100 reputation. Based upon your reputation and number of houses you have close to your station, you'll get a percentage of the total city passengers.

In other words: Don't steal people's cities unless you're fine with getting less citizens than them. There will be more ways in the future to get/loose reputation, but I'll post the updates like I always do Smiley

Zooming in from the map now generates less "clouds" while loading
No more vehicles with weird numbers blocking you from buying more
Map is 4 times the size
You start with 200.000 instead of 150.000
Money generated from buses is halved (people ended up with millions they couldn't spend Tongue)
People come more quickly to your stations (you might need 3 buses per station to start with instead of 2)
Also some general bug fixes on the server side

New way to receive passengers: the passengers of a city is shared over the stations. Stations belonging to players with more reputation or stations with more houses within 4 squares gain a bigger part of the passengers given out from a city.

why when I clicked on my station to choose it, it says "choose another station". Am I only allowed a certain number of buses per station

You set the destination station to the same as the starting station Tongue

Kind regards,
Mike

My current game, Minecraft meets Farmville and goes online Smiley
State of Fortune | Discussion thread @ JGO
Offline h3ckboy
« Reply #155 - Posted 2011-08-06 00:26:06 »

hahah, apo's reign is over!

also, could u add selling stations, cuase I accidentally put 2 in one town.... yes, I know dumb moment....
Offline Mike

JGO Wizard


Medals: 69
Projects: 2
Exp: 5 years


Java guru wanabee


« Reply #156 - Posted 2011-08-06 00:32:11 »

hahah, apo's reign is over!

Yes! Smiley

also, could u add selling stations, cuase I accidentally put 2 in one town.... yes, I know dumb moment....

You can remove it by bulldozing it... but it'll cost you 4000 to remove it Tongue (Later the stations will have a maintenance cost connected to them, and then it'll actually make sense to remove them).

Also, I just remembered a bug with the path finding system and I'd advice you against placing intersections directly after bridges/tunnels... ;-)

Mike

My current game, Minecraft meets Farmville and goes online Smiley
State of Fortune | Discussion thread @ JGO
Offline Riven
« League of Dukes »

JGO Overlord


Medals: 605
Projects: 4
Exp: 16 years


Hand over your head.


« Reply #157 - Posted 2011-08-06 00:37:40 »

I have one issue to report:

If you have a central town with 4 towns connecting to it, and you have 4 buses, they will clog up the central town.

The reason is simple: buses will only leave when they are full. The 4 remote towns are filling up (>300 passengers) while the central town fills the buses one by one, and is always nearly empty.

Solution: make the buses leave after N seconds, so they leave while not being full, and can pick up the passengers at the other town, to make lots more money that now (idling in an empty station).

Hi, appreciate more people! Σ ♥ = ¾
Learn how to award medals... and work your way up the social rankings
Offline Mike

JGO Wizard


Medals: 69
Projects: 2
Exp: 5 years


Java guru wanabee


« Reply #158 - Posted 2011-08-06 00:40:59 »

That's the next thing I'll add, I've been having it on the todo list for quite some time but other things have been more important.

Vehicles will default on "load" (ie, leave after 20 seconds and just grab what you can) but will be able to change them to "full load" (ie, as it is now).

Mike

My current game, Minecraft meets Farmville and goes online Smiley
State of Fortune | Discussion thread @ JGO
Offline h3ckboy
« Reply #159 - Posted 2011-08-06 00:46:58 »

hey, can u add a way to zoom wihtout scrollwheel?
Games published by our own members! Check 'em out!
Legends of Yore - The Casual Retro Roguelike
Offline Mike

JGO Wizard


Medals: 69
Projects: 2
Exp: 5 years


Java guru wanabee


« Reply #160 - Posted 2011-08-06 00:49:12 »

hey, can u add a way to zoom wihtout scrollwheel?

Page up/Page down Smiley

If you look under "How do I play" there is a list with all the controls there.

Kind regards,
Mike

My current game, Minecraft meets Farmville and goes online Smiley
State of Fortune | Discussion thread @ JGO
Offline Mike

JGO Wizard


Medals: 69
Projects: 2
Exp: 5 years


Java guru wanabee


« Reply #161 - Posted 2011-08-06 02:45:10 »

I have one issue to report:

If you have a central town with 4 towns connecting to it, and you have 4 buses, they will clog up the central town.

The reason is simple: buses will only leave when they are full. The 4 remote towns are filling up (>300 passengers) while the central town fills the buses one by one, and is always nearly empty.

Solution: make the buses leave after N seconds, so they leave while not being full, and can pick up the passengers at the other town, to make lots more money that now (idling in an empty station).

Added Smiley Default is "Load" in which case it loads for 20 sec and then leaves with whatever the bus has. The other option is "Full load" and then it waits until all 50 passengers are present.

You can change it on the vehicle window (where you also can see how many passengers you're currently transporting!)

Let's hope this update went better than the last one I did at 3 am, then the server was down all night until I woke up Tongue

Mike

My current game, Minecraft meets Farmville and goes online Smiley
State of Fortune | Discussion thread @ JGO
Offline ra4king

JGO Kernel


Medals: 322
Projects: 2
Exp: 4 years


I'm the King!


« Reply #162 - Posted 2011-08-06 02:49:46 »

Zooming out to map seems to be broken now. The entire screen is white when I zoom completely out.

Offline Mike

JGO Wizard


Medals: 69
Projects: 2
Exp: 5 years


Java guru wanabee


« Reply #163 - Posted 2011-08-06 02:52:40 »

Zooming out to map seems to be broken now. The entire screen is white when I zoom completely out.

Humm... I don't get that. Try reloading? I'll rework the map soon so it looks a bit better, is a bit more functional and works like it should Smiley

My current game, Minecraft meets Farmville and goes online Smiley
State of Fortune | Discussion thread @ JGO
Offline Riven
« League of Dukes »

JGO Overlord


Medals: 605
Projects: 4
Exp: 16 years


Hand over your head.


« Reply #164 - Posted 2011-08-06 02:59:42 »

Bus-station UI is flashing madly Emo

Hi, appreciate more people! Σ ♥ = ¾
Learn how to award medals... and work your way up the social rankings
Offline ra4king

JGO Kernel


Medals: 322
Projects: 2
Exp: 4 years


I'm the King!


« Reply #165 - Posted 2011-08-06 03:03:31 »

The game starts freezing and stuttering, even the audio begins to stutter, after a couple minutes of play. Seems you might have a memory leak because RAM goes up to 700MB before it freezes my entire computer and I'm forced to kill the java process.

Offline Mike

JGO Wizard


Medals: 69
Projects: 2
Exp: 5 years


Java guru wanabee


« Reply #166 - Posted 2011-08-06 03:05:21 »

That together with Riven's post sounds indeed like some kind of loop that kills the JVM, no sleep for me Tongue

Mike

My current game, Minecraft meets Farmville and goes online Smiley
State of Fortune | Discussion thread @ JGO
Offline Riven
« League of Dukes »

JGO Overlord


Medals: 605
Projects: 4
Exp: 16 years


Hand over your head.


« Reply #167 - Posted 2011-08-06 03:10:48 »

infinite loop:
1  
2  
3  
4  
5  
6  
java.lang.NumberFormatException: null
   at java.lang.Integer.parseInt(Unknown Source)
   at java.lang.Integer.parseInt(Unknown Source)
   at com.stateofprofit.client.k.f.y(Unknown Source)
   at com.stateofprofit.client.k.f.processMessages(Unknown Source)
   at com.stateofprofit.client.k.b.run(Unknown Source)

Hi, appreciate more people! Σ ♥ = ¾
Learn how to award medals... and work your way up the social rankings
Offline Mike

JGO Wizard


Medals: 69
Projects: 2
Exp: 5 years


Java guru wanabee


« Reply #168 - Posted 2011-08-06 03:13:21 »

Fixed. a semicolon can do a lot Smiley

Oh, and Riven, the 0 comes from the word "null" in the exception (nullpointer exceptions and numberformatexception null comes through as 0). Don't know if it's my code that does that somehow (I treat it like a string...) or if it's the stringwriter.

Yay, I'm starting to get stars for the game, the purpose of the game is fulfilled! ;-) (That being people care enough about it to click appreciate, not that I only created it to get stars Tongue)

Not a single client stacktrace, server warning/error or weird behaviour for 10 minutes, I dare to go to sleep Tongue

Mike

My current game, Minecraft meets Farmville and goes online Smiley
State of Fortune | Discussion thread @ JGO
Offline ra4king

JGO Kernel


Medals: 322
Projects: 2
Exp: 4 years


I'm the King!


« Reply #169 - Posted 2011-08-06 08:51:39 »

Yep I can reconfirm the zooming out to map problem. When it supposedly transitions to the map when zooming out, the entire screen goes white instead. I decided to wait if it was loading something but after 5 minutes, nothing new showed up.

Offline Mike

JGO Wizard


Medals: 69
Projects: 2
Exp: 5 years


Java guru wanabee


« Reply #170 - Posted 2011-08-06 10:13:45 »

I know why, your gfx card doesn't support the big texture the new map generates (it's 4096x4096). I'll split it up into smaller textures when I fix the open issues around the map.

I'm off to family today though so it won't be until tonight. Sorry for that Sad

Mike

My current game, Minecraft meets Farmville and goes online Smiley
State of Fortune | Discussion thread @ JGO
Offline Mike

JGO Wizard


Medals: 69
Projects: 2
Exp: 5 years


Java guru wanabee


« Reply #171 - Posted 2011-08-07 02:09:23 »

Yep I can reconfirm the zooming out to map problem. When it supposedly transitions to the map when zooming out, the entire screen goes white instead. I decided to wait if it was loading something but after 5 minutes, nothing new showed up.

Fixed Smiley I've also improved the quality of the map, updated the loading screen so it displays that it's downloading the map instead of putting it under "Connecting to server", fixed the graphical artifacts around the map and made it move at the correct speed when dragging it with the mouse.

Left to do with the map:
Scroll towards the mouse
Markers for cities and own stations
Move using keys

Kind regards,
Mike

My current game, Minecraft meets Farmville and goes online Smiley
State of Fortune | Discussion thread @ JGO
Offline Bonbon-Chan

JGO Coder


Medals: 12



« Reply #172 - Posted 2011-08-07 07:53:17 »

Several time, I have loose money in making road :
- A draw a line with the road tool
- The money is remove
- The road is created
- The road disappear with reimboursement !!!!
- The tree near by my road begin to move  Shocked Iiiiiiick


Edit :
How come that sometimes I loose money (10-30$) ?
Offline Bonbon-Chan

JGO Coder


Medals: 12



« Reply #173 - Posted 2011-08-07 11:26:29 »

Ok, when i saw your same, it make me want to try to do some building model  Emo
There was a way to do it that I wanted to try (not too bad results, it can be better). My aim was to do several buidlings, one low poly mesh obj file by buidling, one 512x512 texture by buidling, coords between -50...+50. So a "quick" result :
.

I'm pretty sure that you will do a graphic update at some point (it is far form the first thing to do  Grin). But if you want, you can use my models has a starting point.


Offline Mike

JGO Wizard


Medals: 69
Projects: 2
Exp: 5 years


Java guru wanabee


« Reply #174 - Posted 2011-08-07 11:41:46 »

Several time, I have loose money in making road :
- A draw a line with the road tool
- The money is remove
- The road is created
- The road disappear with reimboursement !!!!
- The tree near by my road begin to move  Shocked Iiiiiiick
That's the server not accepting your input (I check everything on the server to avoid multiple people doing changes to the same place, or people cheating by feeding the server with info that isn't correct). It shouldn't happen too often though so if you see it often I'll have to have a look at it, maybe the server is too sensitive on some point (although, it's pretty much the same code as on the client).

Edit :
How come that sometimes I loose money (10-30$) ?
I noticed that on the server (never when testing it locally) the money for building stations/roads isn't always removed when building it. As the client synchronizes its money with the server every 30 seconds (an when a vehicle enters a station) you'll eventually see the money removed. I'll have a look at it after some other open points (finishing the map and fixing a bug with path finding).

I'm pretty sure that you will do a graphic update at some point (it is far form the first thing to do  Grin). But if you want, you can use my models has a starting point.
Amazing! Smiley 512x512 per building is a bit too high but I'll definitely use them as a starting point once I add more buildings and improve the quality of the cities. Did you create them from scratch yourself? If I explain what I want and you make it I'll reimburse you Wink

Mike

My current game, Minecraft meets Farmville and goes online Smiley
State of Fortune | Discussion thread @ JGO
Offline Bonbon-Chan

JGO Coder


Medals: 12



« Reply #175 - Posted 2011-08-07 12:36:31 »

That's the server not accepting your input (I check everything on the server to avoid multiple people doing changes to the same place, or people cheating by feeding the server with info that isn't correct). It shouldn't happen too often though so if you see it often I'll have to have a look at it, maybe the server is too sensitive on some point (although, it's pretty much the same code as on the client).

Sniff loosing 10k$ while trying to build bridge :
- Building 2, one after another (-5k$)
- Both disappear
- Since I'm a morron  Wink rebuilding bridges (-5k$)
- Both disappear

There I am sure that there was NO reimbourse.

Amazing! Smiley 512x512 per building is a bit too high but I'll definitely use them as a starting point once I add more buildings and improve the quality of the cities. Did you create them from scratch yourself? If I explain what I want and you make it I'll reimburse you Wink

Mike
I can't say it is from scratch since I use photo found on the net :
1) I google big image of building (for example this one).
2) I use Gimp to create texture from it (mainly the perspective correction tool).
3) It is mainly texturing boxes.
Offline Mike

JGO Wizard


Medals: 69
Projects: 2
Exp: 5 years


Java guru wanabee


« Reply #176 - Posted 2011-08-07 12:39:49 »

Sniff loosing 10k$ while trying to build bridge :
- Building 2, one after another (-5k$)
- Both disappear
- Since I'm a morron  Wink rebuilding bridges (-5k$)
- Both disappear

There I am sure that there was NO reimbourse.
Annoying! I'll have a look at it, there are some annoying bugs at the moment that needs attention.

I can't say it is from scratch since I use photo found on the net :
1) I google big image of building (for example this one).
2) I use Gimp to create texture from it (mainly the perspective correction tool).
3) It is mainly texturing boxes.

Ah, I thought you drew them yourself Smiley I'll make sure they're not copyrighted Tongue

My current game, Minecraft meets Farmville and goes online Smiley
State of Fortune | Discussion thread @ JGO
Offline h3ckboy
« Reply #177 - Posted 2011-08-07 14:20:33 »

hye,t he map doesnt appear for me anymore, u said you fixed that, but now it doesnt work. just a head up Smiley
Offline Mike

JGO Wizard


Medals: 69
Projects: 2
Exp: 5 years


Java guru wanabee


« Reply #178 - Posted 2011-08-07 14:25:08 »

Fixed it (and fixed the bug that caused it) and restarted the server Smiley

EDIT: Or so I thought... looking into it.

EDIT: Right, it's quite smart to update the server code when fixing a bug. Restarted the server. (Be aware that every time I restart the server all passengers waiting reset to 0).

EDIT: Sorry for the 20 min downtime. As a token of appreciation I'll give you a reward soon Wink

EDIT: Game updated. You can now move the map using the arrow keys (same controls as the rest of the game), the map zooms in relation to where the mouse is and you can see all your stations on the map.

Mike

My current game, Minecraft meets Farmville and goes online Smiley
State of Fortune | Discussion thread @ JGO
Offline Mike

JGO Wizard


Medals: 69
Projects: 2
Exp: 5 years


Java guru wanabee


« Reply #179 - Posted 2011-08-07 16:08:01 »

Several time, I have loose money in making road :
- A draw a line with the road tool
- The money is remove
- The road is created
- The road disappear with reimboursement !!!!
- The tree near by my road begin to move  Shocked Iiiiiiick


Edit :
How come that sometimes I loose money (10-30$) ?

I found the bug and fixed it locally (will update it to the live system later). They were actually linked Smiley When building a road where there are trees the trees will get removed, but the cost for it is never deducted on the client (therefore you loose small amounts of money sometimes, as the server does remove the money). If you're low on money and you pull a road through some trees the server will complain that you cannot pull as many roads as the client said, and it'll correct the client.

Mike

My current game, Minecraft meets Farmville and goes online Smiley
State of Fortune | Discussion thread @ JGO
Pages: 1 ... 4 5 [6] 7 8 ... 14
  ignore  |  Print  
 
 
You cannot reply to this message, because it is very, very old.

 

Add your game by posting it in the WIP section,
or publish it in Showcase.

The first screenshot will be displayed as a thumbnail.

xsi3rr4x (50 views)
2014-04-15 18:08:23

BurntPizza (46 views)
2014-04-15 03:46:01

UprightPath (62 views)
2014-04-14 17:39:50

UprightPath (44 views)
2014-04-14 17:35:47

Porlus (61 views)
2014-04-14 15:48:38

tom_mai78101 (84 views)
2014-04-10 04:04:31

BurntPizza (142 views)
2014-04-08 23:06:04

tom_mai78101 (242 views)
2014-04-05 13:34:39

trollwarrior1 (201 views)
2014-04-04 12:06:45

CJLetsGame (208 views)
2014-04-01 02:16:10
List of Learning Resources
by SHC
2014-04-18 03:17:39

List of Learning Resources
by Longarmx
2014-04-08 03:14:44

Good Examples
by matheus23
2014-04-05 13:51:37

Good Examples
by Grunnt
2014-04-03 15:48:46

Good Examples
by Grunnt
2014-04-03 15:48:37

Good Examples
by matheus23
2014-04-01 18:40:51

Good Examples
by matheus23
2014-04-01 18:40:34

Anonymous/Local/Inner class gotchas
by Roquen
2014-03-11 15:22:30
java-gaming.org is not responsible for the content posted by its members, including references to external websites, and other references that may or may not have a relation with our primarily gaming and game production oriented community. inquiries and complaints can be sent via email to the info‑account of the company managing the website of java‑gaming.org
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Managed by Enhanced Four Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!