Java-Gaming.org    
Featured games (79)
games approved by the League of Dukes
Games in Showcase (477)
Games in Android Showcase (109)
games submitted by our members
Games in WIP (536)
games currently in development
News: Read the Java Gaming Resources, or peek at the official Java tutorials
 
    Home     Help   Search   Login   Register   
Pages: [1]
  ignore  |  Print  
  New World Order: The Fortress  (Read 3988 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Offline zparticle

Senior Member




Thick As A Brick


« Posted 2002-12-10 04:40:56 »

Well I've got the very basics of my new game project running you can see the current progress in the following file (448k).

http://www.scottshaver2000.com/files/nwotf_1.zip

Just run the run.bat file after unzipping to a temp directory. Click on the joystick icon to start the level 1 map.  Use the cursor keys to move and space to jump. Click the circle with a slash through it to exit the program.

Offline Captain-Goatse

Junior Member




I suck at teh 2D. XBOX IS BIG LOL!111


« Reply #1 - Posted 2002-12-10 06:10:11 »

Your hosting cuts me off from the downloads randomly.

Or then its my connection. Can't decide.
Offline Golthar

Junior Member




;)


« Reply #2 - Posted 2002-12-10 06:19:37 »

Well bummer...its for 1.4 (which I dont work with at the workplace)

Any other requirements? Smiley

come visit us: http://www.otf1337.com
Games published by our own members! Check 'em out!
Legends of Yore - The Casual Retro Roguelike
Offline Micke

Senior Newbie




Yada-yada


« Reply #3 - Posted 2002-12-10 06:25:06 »

I would love to try it, but since some time ago, there is no chance in h**l for me to run any java fullscreen apps (actually since I installed the latest driver for my Matrox G400... Or was it when XP got onto the machine?)... Starting to get a bit annoying - no errors, just hangs in some cases, runs without showing a single pixel in others... I know I probably should report this somewhere, but I have the feeling nothing is gonna happen anyway until 1.4.1_02 or 1.5 so I'd rather just sulk...  Sorry about the OffTopico reply!

/M
Offline mbishop78

Senior Newbie





« Reply #4 - Posted 2002-12-10 12:59:47 »

It ran pretty good under Windows XP for me.  Really didn't look like there was any gravity or clipping, but the guy animated smoothly and the screen scrolled just fine.  I was getting around 55FPS.  I have a P3-733 with 512MB RAM, onboard video, and an ATI XPert 128 (Dual monitors).  It's a work computer, so nothing's gaming material.  I did notice that when it ran in fullscreen on my primary monitor, it moved all my other windows to the secondary monitor.  Strange.

Michael Bishop
Offline zparticle

Senior Member




Thick As A Brick


« Reply #5 - Posted 2002-12-10 13:19:13 »

Yeah, no gravity or collision detection yet. just the basics of getting the level diplsay, control panel display, basic character movement, music, etc... Hmm, 55FPS on a P3-733, I was hoping for more.

Machine 1: WinXP, P3-733Mhz, ATI XPert 128 (55 FPS)
Machine 2: Win2K, P3-930Mhz, NVIDIA RIVA TNT2 Model 64 (74 FPS, maxed refresh rate-1, a little jerky)
Machine 3: Win2k, P4-1.3Ghz, GeForce4 Ti 4600 (75 FPS, maxed refresh rate, smooth as glass)
Machine 4: NA,P4-1.8Ghz, GeForce4 Go (60 FPS maxed refresh rate)

Anyone else have a set of FPS values and machine specs running this? Would be nice to know just how far down the machine ladder it will go.

The second monitor thing with apps getting pushed to the side happens on my machine at home and the one at work as well, it has something to do with how full screen mode uses the video memory.

Offline cknoll

Junior Member




Flame On!


« Reply #6 - Posted 2002-12-10 14:07:26 »

Hi, getting my max refresh (60fps) on 1.8 Ghz P4 with GF4 Go vid card (laptop).  I think that a few things could be done to make it easier on the processor (and I'm saying this based on my assumptions that you are trying to recreate Impossible mission)

1) You don't need to scroll the background at all.  The player avatar runs around the screen on a fixed background based on the old game.  The 'room' only changes when you leave through an exit (except for the main elevators, i think, which actually cause backgrounds to redraw as you move up and down the main elevator shaft). Maybe redarwing the entire screen every time you move is to much work?

2) (if you accept point 1) You can probably speed up drawing by using clipping regions to only redraw the portion of the screen that changes (the avatar moves, any of the guard robots move, etc.)

That's it. The animation for the guy is very flud (altho very pixelated Smiley ) Good job.

-Chris
Offline zparticle

Senior Member




Thick As A Brick


« Reply #7 - Posted 2002-12-10 14:44:19 »

Yep it is an Impossible Mission rip off. In fact the current graphic cells and sprites are exact reproductions of the original game on the C-64.  That's why the they have a pixelated look.

However I'm not trying to duplicate the game just use the basic concepts and visuals (I might update the graphics to a more modern look later but I kind of like the retro look). For instance there is no falling through the bottom of the floor in a room. As for making it easier on the processor it currently takes 100% CPU because I'm in a tight rendering loop, no sleeps.

I have yet to find a way to make the scrolling this smooth and have sleeping in the rendering loop.

Offline Grom

Junior Member




Rats...


« Reply #8 - Posted 2002-12-10 15:19:32 »

Any chance you could allow it to work in a big window if fullscreen isn't available? I haven't been able to get fullscreen to work under Linux (JDK1.4.1_01 latest nvidia drivers).

Thanks.
Offline zparticle

Senior Member




Thick As A Brick


« Reply #9 - Posted 2002-12-10 15:31:52 »

Yep I'll try to get that working tonight if I have time. I've been needing to add that to my system anyway.

Games published by our own members! Check 'em out!
Legends of Yore - The Casual Retro Roguelike
Offline zparticle

Senior Member




Thick As A Brick


« Reply #10 - Posted 2002-12-11 17:23:06 »

Well I made changes to allow the game to play in windowed mode but the frame rate goes from 75 in full screen to 7 in windowed mode. That is basically useless in windowed mode. Anyone have any ideas on what I might be doing wrong or is this normal?

Offline Grom

Junior Member




Rats...


« Reply #11 - Posted 2002-12-11 17:52:50 »

Are you using a Voodoo Rush card? :_)

If you want me to try it for a point of reference just post.
Offline zparticle

Senior Member




Thick As A Brick


« Reply #12 - Posted 2002-12-11 19:21:23 »

Nope, I have a GeForce4 Ti 4600.

Okay I took out the BufferStrategy when in windowed mode and it gets over 400 FPS. The text screen flashes a lot, I have an idea about how to fix that.

The playing screen is okay, small flashes. I tried serval things to get rid of the flashing but they all caused massive slow downs.

The timing is hosed in windowed mode because it is too fast I'll fix that later.

The zip now contains to batch files, run.bat tries for fullscreen mode and if it can't get it goes to windowed mode. runwindowed.bat forces windowed mode even on systems that support fullscreen mode.

So give it a try and let me know how it performs.

Edit: I uploaded another version of the zip which controls the frame rate under windowed mode.  You should get somewhere around 75-85 FPS.

Edit: Another version is up that gets rid of the flashing on the text screen (story screen) in windowed mode.

Offline Grom

Junior Member




Rats...


« Reply #13 - Posted 2002-12-11 20:02:38 »

I'm able to get farther. The output is pasted below.
It's interesting that what comes up is a grey borderless window that does nothing. However, if I:
1. select some other application with the mouse
2. select grey window
3. goto 1 (15 times)

each time I click an image is loaded and the scrollbar moves one tick.
Same thing with the "windowed" argument.

Thoughts?


Full screen mode is not supported on this display device.
Loading: /images/TitleScreen.png
Loading: /images/FrameTop.png
Loaded 1 of 14 ( 7.1428576% )
Loading: /images/ProgressBarFiller.png
Loading: /images/blankcursor.png
Loading: /images/FrameBottom.png
Loaded 2 of 14 ( 14.285715% )
Loading: /images/FrameLeft.png
Loaded 3 of 14 ( 21.428572% )
Loading: /images/FrameRight.png
Loaded 4 of 14 ( 28.57143% )
Loading: /images/fonts/set5
Loaded 5 of 14 ( 35.714287% )
Loading: /text/intro.txt
Loaded 6 of 14 ( 42.857143% )
Loading: /images/uparrow15x16x5.png
Loaded 7 of 14 ( 50.0% )
Loading: /images/downarrow15x16x5.png
Loaded 8 of 14 ( 57.14286% )
Loading: /images/ControlPanel.png
Loaded 9 of 14 ( 64.28571% )
Loading: /images/LoadGame.png
Loaded 10 of 14 ( 71.42857% )
Loading: /images/SaveGame.png
Loaded 11 of 14 ( 78.57143% )
Loading: /images/NewGame.png
Loaded 12 of 14 ( 85.71429% )
Loading: /images/QuitGame.png
Loaded 13 of 14 ( 92.85714% )
Loading: /sprites/running_right.png
Loading: /sprites/jumping_right.png
Loading: /sprites/running_left.png
Loading: /sprites/jumping_left.png
Loading: /sprites/standing_right.png
Loading: /sprites/standing_left.png
Loaded 14 of 14 ( 100.0% )
java.lang.NullPointerException
       at com.sas.nwotf.Main.loadNextResource(Unknown Source)
       at com.sas.nwotf.Main.render(Unknown Source)
       at com.sas.planetation.gui.FullScreenJFrame.doRender(Unknown Source)
       at com.sas.planetation.gui.FullScreenJFrame.formWindowActivated(Unknown Source)
       at com.sas.planetation.gui.FullScreenJFrame.access$300(Unknown Source)
       at com.sas.planetation.gui.FullScreenJFrame$1.windowActivated(Unknown Source)
       at java.awt.AWTEventMulticaster.windowActivated(AWTEventMulticaster.java:327)
       at java.awt.Window.processWindowEvent(Window.java:1114)
Offline zparticle

Senior Member




Thick As A Brick


« Reply #14 - Posted 2002-12-11 20:17:53 »

Okay another version is up. I had it setup to stop the rendering thread when the mouse was outside of the JFrame. I use this with dual monitors in full screen mode to do screen caps and to check individual animation frames. It hadn't occured to me that this would cause a problem in windowed mode.

If it works this time Tongue let me know if the music plays on Linux, it should. BTW thanks for forcing me to support windowed mode. It uncovered a number of flaws in my system.  Roll Eyes  Kind of cool to be able to play the game in windowed mode too. Grin

EDIT: Wow windowed mode only use 24-40 % of the CPU, cool. Added a sleep for full screen mode too and got the CPU down to 40% and the scrolling remained smooth, wonder why it wasn't when I tried this before.

Offline Grom

Junior Member




Rats...


« Reply #15 - Posted 2002-12-11 21:46:12 »

Glad it's working for you:-)
I downloaded 3 times to make sure using konqueror, then wget to ensure I received the latest version. konqueror kept telling me you put an earlier version on the web server.?
This may be true as all of the old behavior (click 15 times in,out of window) including the NullPointerException is there:

java.lang.NullPointerException
       at com.sas.nwotf.Main.loadNextResource(Unknown Source)
       at com.sas.nwotf.Main.render(Unknown Source)
       at com.sas.planetation.gui.FullScreenJFrame.doRender(Unknown Source)
       at com.sas.planetation.gui.FullScreenJFrame.formWindowActivated(Unknown Source)
       at com.sas.planetation.gui.FullScreenJFrame.access$300(Unknown Source)
       at com.sas.planetation.gui.FullScreenJFrame$1.windowActivated(Unknown Source)
       at java.awt.AWTEventMulticaster.windowActivated(AWTEventMulticaster.java:327)
       at java.awt.Window.processWindowEvent(Window.java:1114)
Offline zparticle

Senior Member




Thick As A Brick


« Reply #16 - Posted 2002-12-11 22:10:44 »

AARRGGG! Okay well if you have it in you, try one more download I just put it up.

Offline Grom

Junior Member




Rats...


« Reply #17 - Posted 2002-12-12 00:44:07 »

md5sum reports its the same file.
Also, I downloaded it into a different directory to force the download.

Out of curiosity I kept clicking in and out of the window and eventually I _did_ see the fortress introduction screen. But, it died again. Stack trace below.

java.lang.NullPointerException
       at com.sas.nwotf.Main.displayControlPanel(Unknown Source)
       at com.sas.nwotf.Main.displayGameScreen(Unknown Source)
       at com.sas.nwotf.Main.render(Unknown Source)
       at com.sas.planetation.gui.FullScreenJFrame.doRender(Unknown Source)
       at com.sas.planetation.gui.FullScreenJFrame.formWindowActivated(Unknown Source)
       at com.sas.planetation.gui.FullScreenJFrame.access$300(Unknown Source)
       at com.sas.planetation.gui.FullScreenJFrame$1.windowActivated(Unknown Source)
       at java.awt.AWTEventMulticaster.windowActivated(AWTEventMulticaster.java:327)
       at java.awt.Window.processWindowEvent(Window.java:1114)
Offline zparticle

Senior Member




Thick As A Brick


« Reply #18 - Posted 2002-12-12 02:05:48 »

Well looking at the output you have given I just noticed that the messages from the mod player aren't being displayed. This makes me think that the music is causing the problem. I'll put up another version that kills the music if the os isn't windows once I've finished adding the elevators. They are giving me a terrible time. Embarrassed

Offline Virum

Junior Member




Like a leaf in an icy world, memories will fade


« Reply #19 - Posted 2002-12-12 23:37:15 »

I was getting about 156 FpS Fullscreen.

It's time to prove to your friends that your worth a damn. Sometimes that means dying; sometimes that means killing a whole lotta people.

Blog
Offline zparticle

Senior Member




Thick As A Brick


« Reply #20 - Posted 2002-12-17 13:28:02 »

Ran into a number of problems and had to back up a little and work out some issues in a smaller program. The link below is the program I used to figure out what I have been doing wrong in NWO:TF.

This code sleeps 10ms after every frame so it might be horrible on some slower systems or systems with crappy video cards. It will run in windowed and full screen (see the batch files).

Grom this one has no music or sound I would like to know if it runs under Linux.

http://www.scottshaver2000.com/files/jnj_1.zip (340k)

arrow keys to move, space to jump.

Pages: [1]
  ignore  |  Print  
 
 
You cannot reply to this message, because it is very, very old.

 

Add your game by posting it in the WIP section,
or publish it in Showcase.

The first screenshot will be displayed as a thumbnail.

CogWheelz (18 views)
2014-07-30 21:08:39

Riven (26 views)
2014-07-29 18:09:19

Riven (15 views)
2014-07-29 18:08:52

Dwinin (13 views)
2014-07-29 10:59:34

E.R. Fleming (34 views)
2014-07-29 03:07:13

E.R. Fleming (12 views)
2014-07-29 03:06:25

pw (43 views)
2014-07-24 01:59:36

Riven (44 views)
2014-07-23 21:16:32

Riven (30 views)
2014-07-23 21:07:15

Riven (31 views)
2014-07-23 20:56:16
List of Learning Resources
by SilverTiger
2014-07-31 18:29:50

List of Learning Resources
by SilverTiger
2014-07-31 18:26:06

List of Learning Resources
by SilverTiger
2014-07-31 13:54:12

HotSpot Options
by dleskov
2014-07-08 03:59:08

Java and Game Development Tutorials
by SwordsMiner
2014-06-14 00:58:24

Java and Game Development Tutorials
by SwordsMiner
2014-06-14 00:47:22

How do I start Java Game Development?
by ra4king
2014-05-17 11:13:37

HotSpot Options
by Roquen
2014-05-15 09:59:54
java-gaming.org is not responsible for the content posted by its members, including references to external websites, and other references that may or may not have a relation with our primarily gaming and game production oriented community. inquiries and complaints can be sent via email to the info‑account of the company managing the website of java‑gaming.org
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Managed by Enhanced Four Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!