Home     Help   Search   Login   Register   
Pages: [1]
  ignore  |  Print  
  Board Game  (Read 2277 times)
Offline bigdaddy123

Senior Newbie

Java games rock!

« Posted 2005-05-21 00:39:58 »

I am new to Java.  I have been reading for a couple of months now and decided to build a board game with marbles and dice. I would like to use this game on my personal website just for personal use, so it shouldnt have alot of traffic.  Here is my question, I have started building the game and have the graphics layed out and have an animated dice to retrieve a random number when clicked and am preparing to add the game pieces (marbles). Can I build the applet with all the game logic included so that each client will have a fully functioning game and then just build a server page to forward events to each client as they happen. or is it way more complicated than that.  I bought a book on networking but it is cluttered with so much stuff to handle many players (playing, watching, waiting to play, etc.) that I wonder if for something like this it might be simpler. Thanks
Offline noblemaster

JGO Ninja

Medals: 20
Projects: 10

Age of Conquest makes your day!

« Reply #1 - Posted 2005-06-03 07:47:03 »

I am not so sure on what you exactly want to do on your server? The less the server does,
the easier it is to implement!

Generelly, I agree, most books go way too far into details! Don't worry about it. All you need
is the most simplest example you understand, and you build on top of that! That's what I
always do. I built a realtime & turn-based networked game with that approach and didn't
have any major problems.

What I would do:
1. build your game excluding the client-server part at first, however having it in mind so you
    can easier add it later.
2. Take the simplest example you find and understand in networking and add it to the game.
    E.g. send a text from the client to the server and check if it works! Once you get that to work
    you can add functionality ...