Games in Android Showcase (109)
games submitted by our members
Games in WIP (536)
games currently in development
News: Read the Java Gaming Resources, or peek at the official Java tutorials

Home     Help   Search   Login   Register   
Pages: [1]
  ignore  |  Print  
  Advise needed for making a 3D opengl virtual tour  (Read 1460 times)
Offline ddwarf

Junior Newbie

Java games rock!

« Posted 2005-05-18 20:45:04 »

Hi everyone. I'm new in programming games in java... totally noob  Grin

Therefore i will need your help. I have to choose a technology for a project I'm on. I'll describe it now.

My school (I'm a student) has given me the task of making a new virtual tour of the school, in order to place it on their website. They actually did one, vith VRML. It's pretty ugly and unfounctionnal, and of course not really cross-platform or browser-independant. There are the constraints of my project:

- I have to take the VRML existing data, put it into a 3D editing app, make it much nicer (I habe a friend working on it with me, and he is pretty strong at modelizing):
  - do a not-entirely-flat terrain
  - do nicer textures (perhaps the easier)
  - do overlay textures containing light effects on the buildings

- i have to do it completely cross-platform, not necesseraly a web applet; i have to avoid the use of a software plugin
for "playback"; since I started i am convinced that java with opengl is the best for me; i know that java web start is perfect for the project too.

- the user should "play" this virtual tour like a FPS (just walk and use first person view, maybe a world-of-warcraft-type view (you see your avatar and if you zoom you're in it), with letf/right/forward/backwards controls