Games in Android Showcase (119)
games submitted by our members
Games in WIP (577)
games currently in development
News: Read the Java Gaming Resources, or peek at the official Java tutorials

Home     Help   Search   Login   Register   
Pages: [1]
  ignore  |  Print  
  Partial Packets in NIO ?  (Read 4047 times)
Offline Endemoniada

Junior Newbie

Java games rock!

« Posted 2005-03-24 14:18:48 »

Hi guys,

How do you normally handle partial packets ?

Here is some pseudo-code:

if(key.isReadable()){
client.read(buffer);
// check if it's a full packet here ?
}

Should I be using something like XML tags, for example:

<in>the stuff he sent</in>

Then I can check it that way. And is it possible that the server can receive these kinds of packets:

// packet 01
<in>this stuff
// packet 02
wasn't complete</in>
// packet 03
<in>small</in><in>start of next
// packet 04
packet</in>

See what I mean ?

I'm pretty new to network programming but I'm a pro at C(++) so I'll get the hang of this stuff eventually.

Thanks.
Offline vrm

Junior Duke

where I should sign ?

« Reply #1 - Posted 2005-03-25 06:53:43 »

I use another trick, the first 4 byte of the packet are an Integer representing the total size of the packet, so I know how many bytes I need to wait.
Offline endolf

JGO Coder

Medals: 7
Exp: 15 years

Current project release date: sometime in 3003

« Reply #2 - Posted 2005-03-26 17:37:39 »

In my case I'm using simple messageing (enough for what I need) and I use the first 2 bytes as a message type code, and the next two as the data length, then I can read bytes off the stream till I've got that many and process them.

Games published by our own members! Check 'em out!
Legends of Yore - The Casual Retro Roguelike
Offline Jeff

JGO Coder

Got any cats?

« Reply #3 - Posted 2005-04-16 01:44:32 »