Home     Help   Search   Login   Register   
Pages: [1]
  ignore  |  Print  
  double buffers  (Read 1544 times)
Offline jayhg99

Senior Newbie

Java games rock!

« Posted 2003-01-29 13:19:39 »

I have an application which uses double buffers to paint the screen constantly in window mode. When I place the mouse cursor on the screen, I can see that the mouse cursor is shaking as the screen gets painted, which is understandable since the screen gets refreshed constantly.  I assume that  I’m not using the page flipping feature since I’m in the window mode not full screen mode. The application uses menu bars and popup menus which prevent me from using full screen mode.

However, if I first execute the sample program MultiBufferTest.java at http://java.sun.com/docs/books/tutorial/extra/fullscreen/example.html  and then run the application again ,  the mouse cursor on the screen does not shake any more as the screen gets repainted, which is what I want.  I studied the MultiBufferTest.java which uses BufferStrategy, DisaplyMode and full screen mode. I just do not understand why  program MultiBufferTest.java could have impact on my application. It has to have something to do with VRAM. How can I take some of features from MultiBufferTest.java and merge with my application so that I can get rid of the mouse cursor shaking  when refreshing the screen and at same time still running in window mode ?

Jay
Offline Abuse

JGO Knight

Medals: 12

falling into the abyss of reality

« Reply #1 - Posted 2003-01-29 15:46:31 »

how are you doing the double buffering in your current app?

i *think* MultiBufferTest.java uses BufferStrategy (I havn't actually looked at the source).
This does indeed create the backbuffer in Vram, which may well avoid the 'shaking' cursor problem.

btw, when you say the mouse cursor is 'shaking', do you mean flickering?
I seem to remember older ATI gfx cards had this problem when doing windowed directdraw stuff.

abu,