Java-Gaming.org    
Featured games (81)
games approved by the League of Dukes
Games in Showcase (491)
Games in Android Showcase (112)
games submitted by our members
Games in WIP (556)
games currently in development
News: Read the Java Gaming Resources, or peek at the official Java tutorials
 
    Home     Help   Search   Login   Register   
Pages: [1]
  ignore  |  Print  
  GT6 key command options  (Read 2849 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Offline MickeyB

Senior Member




my game will work, my game will work!


« Posted 2004-03-03 10:57:58 »

I have tried to build this game with keyboard only controls in mind.  Now that I am designing the Trade menu/interface...I find myself at an impass.  
Do you, the javagaming community, think it is too much to ask a player to type in something like this to initiate a "buy" at a trade station? (b=buy, s=sell)

1,27,15,b

or for mutliple transactions

1,27,15,b,2,33,50,s


This is after providing the player with a list of products available for sale and a list of his cargo.

Keep in mind I woulf prefer not to get into mouse capture at this point, as I have not used it at all so far, and it is a full screen app.

Thanks

M

MickeyB

Current Project: http://www22.brinkster.com/mbowles/
Offline cfmdobbie

Senior Member


Medals: 1


Who, me?


« Reply #1 - Posted 2004-03-04 21:40:08 »

How is the user being presented with these choices?  If they're told all the options then have to type the string in all at once, people will likely find it annoying.

If you take users through each number via on-screen prompts, things will appear to be a lot more fluid - especially if you can guarantee that when following a "b" directive, "14" will always refer to "iron ore" (or whatever).  I expect most people will find it pretty fast, once they get used to it.

If you're dealing with a small number of options, using appropiate letters instead of numbers is always better ("foodstuffs, components or metal ores?")

Also consider using cursor keys to select an item in a list instead - you may find it more user-friendly to press Down 10 times rather than pressing "t" once.  Prototype it and see how it feels.


As I'm sure you're aware, choosing one from a long list of items is much better down with a mouse.  But if you want to avoid it, that's fine - there's no real reason why a pure keyboard interface can't work!

Hellomynameis Charlie Dobbie.
Offline Abuse

JGO Knight


Medals: 12


falling into the abyss of reality


« Reply #2 - Posted 2004-03-05 10:42:08 »

Is this going to be anything like the stock exchange trade screen in Frontier : Elite 2?
If so, can't you just do it like that?
(left arrow buys stuff from stockmarket at current price,
right arrow sells to the market at current price.
up and down scrolls through the stock in the market.)

oh yeah, u know u love it Tongue

http://sharoma.com/frontierverse/images/tutorial/stockup.gif

Make Elite IV:Dangerous happen! Pledge your backing at KICKSTARTER here! https://dl.dropbox.com/u/54785909/EliteIVsmaller.png
Games published by our own members! Check 'em out!
Legends of Yore - The Casual Retro Roguelike
Offline MickeyB

Senior Member




my game will work, my game will work!


« Reply #3 - Posted 2004-03-05 12:16:53 »

Thanks!  It does some prompting.  You can download the jar (not webstarted yet) and take a peek.
http://www22.brinkster.com/mbowles/gt6/gt6.jar
You can find instructions at http://www22.brinkster.com/mbowles/gt6/default.asp.
Trade runs on the client, but doesnt actually complete a 'transaction' on the server yet. Oh , and the 's' and 'b' at the end has been removed as it knows you have chosen to buy or sell when you enter the transaction.

I do like Abuse's comment and I had originally done something similar, but changed it.  Would that be one product per right or left arrow press?

Someone on the sun game forums found it pretty easy to understand and use, so he was very helpful as well.

As usual, thanks all!

MickeyB

Current Project: http://www22.brinkster.com/mbowles/
Offline Abuse

JGO Knight


Medals: 12


falling into the abyss of reality


« Reply #4 - Posted 2004-03-05 14:26:16 »

Quote

I do like Abuse's comment and I had originally done something similar, but changed it.  Would that be one product per right or left arrow press?


yeah, though Frontier had acceleration if you held the key down, so buying 1500 luxury goods didn't take all day Wink

You could also do modifiers, ctrl*10, shift*100, ctrl+shift*1000, or something like that.

Make Elite IV:Dangerous happen! Pledge your backing at KICKSTARTER here! https://dl.dropbox.com/u/54785909/EliteIVsmaller.png
Offline MickeyB

Senior Member




my game will work, my game will work!


« Reply #5 - Posted 2004-03-05 21:40:08 »

I like the idea of a shift + arrow to multiply by 10 etc...

My have to revert my trade manager and take a wack at it.

thanks

MickeyB

Current Project: http://www22.brinkster.com/mbowles/
Offline blahblahblahh

JGO Coder


Medals: 1


http://t-machine.org


« Reply #6 - Posted 2004-03-07 14:42:59 »

diablo games do "ctrl+right-click = buy as many of item X as you can afford/fit in your pack/etc" which works quite well.

I think the best thing is to think about what amounts people will normally be buying - e.g. if they are usually going to want to buy "as much as I can afford".

If you have limited space / money, and players are likely to want to split their purchase mulitple ways, I'd have a thing that let you say what percentage of your space you wanted to fill, rather than how many items you wanted...

malloc will be first against the wall when the revolution comes...
Offline MickeyB

Senior Member




my game will work, my game will work!


« Reply #7 - Posted 2004-03-08 17:53:45 »

maybe a combo of the two....one right arrow press equals one product, shift + right arrow means buy all you can afford or fit! ??

one last question.

Does it make more sense to have all places that can trade product show a lost of all products in the known universe and have 0 for quantity if they dont carry it or only a short list of products they do carry.

Would probably be much easier to code initially if all trade ports have the full list to start.

MickeyB

Current Project: http://www22.brinkster.com/mbowles/
Offline blahblahblahh

JGO Coder


Medals: 1


http://t-machine.org


« Reply #8 - Posted 2004-03-08 18:37:29 »

Quote

Does it make more sense to have all places that can trade product show a lost of all products in the known universe and have 0 for quantity if they dont carry it or only a short list of products they do carry.

Would probably be much easier to code initially if all trade ports have the full list to start.


Despite obvious problems, it has a huge UI advantage: positional consistency. With variable length lists from place to place, you never know where on the screen the button you want to press is going to appear. With every list always in the same order with the same items, you innately learn where you need to click - it doesn't matter that most people won't realise they do, nor does it matter that only a few will have the confidence to start moving mouse / whatever to the right place before they've had time to read the screen...it will just "feel" subtly and slightly smoother. Especially if you do some colouring trick to make the 0 quantity items fade whilst still occupying the standard screen hieight + width.

But...make a webstartable version, put it up, and we'll try it and let you know Smiley.

malloc will be first against the wall when the revolution comes...
Offline MickeyB

Senior Member




my game will work, my game will work!


« Reply #9 - Posted 2004-03-08 20:14:47 »

thanks a ton! and yes....I know I need to make a webstart of it...soon!

I have created a list that is scrollable with the up and down arrow keys, always being the same length, etc...works pretty well so far.

M

MickeyB

Current Project: http://www22.brinkster.com/mbowles/
Games published by our own members! Check 'em out!
Legends of Yore - The Casual Retro Roguelike
Offline MickeyB

Senior Member




my game will work, my game will work!


« Reply #10 - Posted 2004-03-09 23:18:59 »

ok, here is an attempt at a webstartable version...let me know what craps out as this is only my second attempt at a webstart app.

http://68.57.89.45:11211/gt6/gt6.jnlp

Thanks!

MickeyB

Current Project: http://www22.brinkster.com/mbowles/
Offline kevglass

JGO Kernel


Medals: 159
Projects: 23
Exp: 18 years


Coder, Trainee Pixel Artist, Game Reviewer


« Reply #11 - Posted 2004-03-10 05:10:49 »

Ack, full screen! Smiley I'm afraid I just get a white screen sorta 80% of the width of the screen.

1Ghz, Onboard Intel Graphics, 512MB (work machine Wink)

Any chance of a windowed mode, its less conspicuous

Kev

Offline MickeyB

Senior Member




my game will work, my game will work!


« Reply #12 - Posted 2004-03-10 14:16:15 »

hmmmm...thanks

I considered a windowed mode, but wanted to take advantage of the full screen graphics.  You can pull the jar down from my site as well.  http://www22.brinkster.com/mbowles/gt6/gt6/jar.

It may do a little better, not sure.  It runs on my work Wink machine with intel graphics, and 512 ram.

I wrote it from the very beginning as a full screen project, not sure if I could even do a windowed mode...let me see.

MickeyB

Current Project: http://www22.brinkster.com/mbowles/
Offline MickeyB

Senior Member




my game will work, my game will work!


« Reply #13 - Posted 2004-03-10 22:01:13 »

the webstart version has been updated with a windowed version for testing.  I may repost in the Your Games Here

MickeyB

Current Project: http://www22.brinkster.com/mbowles/
Offline kevglass

JGO Kernel


Medals: 159
Projects: 23
Exp: 18 years


Coder, Trainee Pixel Artist, Game Reviewer


« Reply #14 - Posted 2004-03-11 04:28:58 »

Thanks very much for the windowed version, still was white for 30 seconds, but eventually I got my GT screen...

However, I tried to register and then got this:

1  
2  
3  
4  
5  
6  
7  
8  
9  
10  
11  
12  
13  
14  
15  
16  
17  
18  
19  
20  
21  
22  
23  
24  
25  
26  
27  
28  
29  
30  
31  
32  
33  
java.lang.NullPointerException: string is null

      at sun.java2d.SunGraphics2D.drawString(SunGraphics2D.java:2584)

      at GT6.client.LoginScreen.render(LoginScreen.java:251)

      at GT6.client.GT6.run(GT6.java:431)

      at GT6.client.GT6.<init>(GT6.java:176)

      at GT6.client.GT6.main(GT6.java:187)

      at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)

      at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(NativeMethodAccessorImpl.java:39)

      at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.java:25)

      at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Method.java:324)

      at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.executeApplication(Unknown Source)

      at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.executeMainClass(Unknown Source)

      at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.continueLaunch(Unknown Source)

      at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.handleApplicationDesc(Unknown Source)

      at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.handleLaunchFile(Unknown Source)

      at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.run(Unknown Source)

      at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:536)


Kev

Offline MickeyB

Senior Member




my game will work, my game will work!


« Reply #15 - Posted 2004-03-11 10:50:35 »

I guess I should ask what os you are on and announce, albeit late, that I have only tested this on Win2k with and without video cards of quality....oh and thanks Kev.

I poked around the code and that is a drawString(msg, #, #);  so msg, obvioulsy, is null, I have set some capturing for it, but can't post it until tonight for webstart, earlier for the jar to download.

MickeyB

Current Project: http://www22.brinkster.com/mbowles/
Offline kevglass

JGO Kernel


Medals: 159
Projects: 23
Exp: 18 years


Coder, Trainee Pixel Artist, Game Reviewer


« Reply #16 - Posted 2004-03-11 11:16:17 »

Dun Dun Dun...

I'm on Win2K, with Intel onboard graphics..

EDIT: However, I imagine it couldn't connect to the registration server (firewall) so maybe its caused by the failure case?

Kev

Offline MickeyB

Senior Member




my game will work, my game will work!


« Reply #17 - Posted 2004-03-11 11:24:23 »

very possible.  The system should tell you at the top(under the logo) the messages from the server, ie.
successfull connection to #.#.#.# version #, etc..

then when you finsishe regestering, the message should say successful, now login, etc...

If it can't ocnnect to the server, you should see...all known servers are offline, or some phrase like that, which of course could be a firewall issue Smiley

MickeyB

Current Project: http://www22.brinkster.com/mbowles/
Offline MickeyB

Senior Member




my game will work, my game will work!


« Reply #18 - Posted 2004-03-15 13:57:32 »

I have been moving forward with my implementation of the mouse.  So far, so good.  My biggest charlie-horse is whether to do point and click navigation, how and in what method...

i.e.
-should you click somewhere in space and then ship thruster ignite, and the ship starts moving to that position handling its own rotation and thrust?
-should there be a thrusters bar where you click what speed and then a left and right arrow pic to click to rotate right and left?
-should I continue to keep player centered, or go with the warcraft type scenario where the all ships are in exact sector location and the mouse can cause the entire screen to scroll around(with a hot button to move view to your ship in emergencies) and provide a small sector map radar view?

and then...I have never implemented a point and click...move to that spot...before, so mathmatically, it will be  challenge for me.( I can rotate and move with arrow keys)

Thoughts, suggestions, code suggestinos/snippets, tut's....

thanks

MickeyB

Current Project: http://www22.brinkster.com/mbowles/
Pages: [1]
  ignore  |  Print  
 
 
You cannot reply to this message, because it is very, very old.

 

Add your game by posting it in the WIP section,
or publish it in Showcase.

The first screenshot will be displayed as a thumbnail.

Nickropheliac (15 views)
2014-08-31 22:59:12

TehJavaDev (23 views)
2014-08-28 18:26:30

CopyableCougar4 (29 views)
2014-08-22 19:31:30

atombrot (41 views)
2014-08-19 09:29:53

Tekkerue (39 views)
2014-08-16 06:45:27

Tekkerue (35 views)
2014-08-16 06:22:17

Tekkerue (25 views)
2014-08-16 06:20:21

Tekkerue (36 views)
2014-08-16 06:12:11

Rayexar (72 views)
2014-08-11 02:49:23

BurntPizza (49 views)
2014-08-09 21:09:32
List of Learning Resources
by Longor1996
2014-08-16 10:40:00

List of Learning Resources
by SilverTiger
2014-08-05 19:33:27

Resources for WIP games
by CogWheelz
2014-08-01 16:20:17

Resources for WIP games
by CogWheelz
2014-08-01 16:19:50

List of Learning Resources
by SilverTiger
2014-07-31 16:29:50

List of Learning Resources
by SilverTiger
2014-07-31 16:26:06

List of Learning Resources
by SilverTiger
2014-07-31 11:54:12

HotSpot Options
by dleskov
2014-07-08 01:59:08
java-gaming.org is not responsible for the content posted by its members, including references to external websites, and other references that may or may not have a relation with our primarily gaming and game production oriented community. inquiries and complaints can be sent via email to the info‑account of the company managing the website of java‑gaming.org
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Managed by Enhanced Four Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!