Home     Help   Search   Login   Register   
Pages: [1]
  ignore  |  Print  
  UI/mouse detection  (Read 380 times)
Offline jonstar

Junior Newbie

« Posted 2013-10-04 15:47:24 »

Hello and thanks for this site!

I'm not a new programmer but I am new to game programming.  I am amazed at how the solutions to some things, like collision detection are not what I expected.  I thought there was more magic to it.  For instance Pong, even if the ball is far away from the paddle, collision is checked each frame. 

Last night I was trying to work out how to do a UI/Overlay/Options menu system on my own and I wondered, "How in the world do I know if the mouse is over a particular component?".   After a time I started just playing with collision detection to see if the current x,y position of the mouse not just collided but is within a rectangle boundary that contains the component.  Instinct for me is this is overkill, just way too much.  Every frame I check to see where the mouse is and if it's within a rectangle.  That's crazy!  Then my thought of managing multiple UI elements was to have a list of them with their details -- that would mean that each frame I would have to iterate over the list of UI elements and see if the mouse x,y is within any of them -- that just feels like using soooo much processing power and that I'm doing it wrong, that there is a more direct approach.

Is this really how I should approach it?

Thanks!
Offline CodeHead

JGO Knight

Medals: 41

From rags to riches...to rags.

« Reply #1 - Posted 2013-10-04 16:04:13 »

That's pretty much the way most frameworks handle it. No matter what the approach, you end up doing a lot of "contains" checks. Depending on how you structure things, you don't always end up iterating over all of your controls. Usually you check for some sort of top level control at a given mouse position, then iterate over the subset of controls within the top level container.