Games in Android Showcase (114)
games submitted by our members
Games in WIP (563)
games currently in development
News: Read the Java Gaming Resources, or peek at the official Java tutorials

Home     Help   Search   Login   Register   
Pages: [1]
  ignore  |  Print  
  Design Choice Explanation - Point vs ints  (Read 768 times)
Offline mentalfloss

Junior Newbie

Medals: 1

« Posted 2013-09-03 13:59:33 »

Can you guys please explain why you want to use int x,y type mechanics instead of the Point class for your coordinates? I see this code everywhere on here and I just cannot figure out why you don't prefer using the Point class.

Maybe I'm missing something here. I am very new to java and not very experienced with games in general. I just figured that since the class is there, why not use it?

Please help me understand this design choice that is so prevalent in java game programming.
Offline RobinB

JGO Ninja

Medals: 44
Projects: 1
Exp: 3 years

Spacegame in progress

« Reply #1 - Posted 2013-09-03 14:07:55 »

If you have a lot of objects, its a lot of overhead, with little to no benefit.
But most of the time people are using floats (much better looking movement).
Offline Troncoso

JGO Coder

Medals: 20

« Reply #2 - Posted 2013-09-03 14:13:14 »

I'll definitely use a Point class if I have a small set of points that I want to continuously manipulate (as opposed to constantly creating new ones). Honestly though, only for the convenience of writing something like p.x as apposed to p[0].
Games published by our own members! Check 'em out!
Legends of Yore - The Casual Retro Roguelike
Offline StrideColossus
« Reply #3 - Posted 2013-09-03 14:23:11 »

It's horses for courses really.

If you're passing around your point data for manipulation by (say) a set of particle system influences then you'd be nuts not to encapsulate the data in a class.