News: Read the Java Gaming Resources, or peek at the official Java tutorials

Home     Help   Search   Login   Register   
Pages: [1] 2
  ignore  |  Print  
  Mac VS. PC  (Read 3399 times)
Offline MacOLauncher

Junior Newbie

« Posted 2012-10-18 06:46:54 »

Okay I have a simple question that's been bugging me for a while. I'm new to java game development and I made a simple game on a PC. All it does is you control a little ship and move around shooting the alien ships.

When I compiled on PC it worked just as expected, but when I ran the jar file on my Mac, everything in the game was happening a lot faster!

One day when I make a full-blown real game, I would like it to be able to run the same on both Mac & PC. So my question is, is there any way to have it run the same? Maybe detect what OS its running on and change the code accordingly? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks Smiley

- Mac

EDIT:
So what I've learned from ya'll:

The mac is giving a better performance then your windows.

2. I could either use Delta or Fixed Rate.

3. princec(Cas) makes
hundreds of thousands of dollars! xD

Delta - complex (just try doing collision detection properly, go on), mercy of floating point, jerky movement. Absolutely horrible for 2D, in any form.
Fixed rate - easy, can use integers all over the place, glassy smooth movement, perfect for 2D.

The basic idea is to link your game to real time, not computer execution speed.

Thanks very much for all your help Smiley
P.S. Any Code examples on how to actually do this would come in handy xD

- Mac
Offline Phased
« Reply #1 - Posted 2012-10-18 06:49:25 »

The mac is giving a better performance then your windows, you can fix this by using delta, which you will pass to your update methods, and it will use it to update the game at pretty much the same speed no matter how good your computer is.

edit: