Games in Showcase (581)
games submitted by our members
Games in WIP (500)
games currently in development
News: Read the Java Gaming Resources, or peek at the official Java tutorials

Home     Help   Search   Login   Register   
Pages: [1]
  ignore  |  Print  
  Pixel Shaders with Xith3d ?  (Read 1624 times)
Offline Preston

Medals: 4

« Posted 2003-12-02 13:18:47 »

Hi,

as a 3d newbie I am in no way familiar with programming pixel shaders and such, however I wonder if it would be possible to use these within Xith3d. (Because they look pretty good.)
Well, currently just Nvidia's gfx card dependent Cg is available via Jogl. Could you use it also within Xith3d?
Difficult, I guess. Since then you would have to ask the gfx card if's Nvidia and Cg enabled - something which you usually don't like to do from within a high level 3d API like Xith3d?

For a platform independent way: OpenGL 2.0 is around the corner, offering a neutral way to pixel shaders. However will it take long until they find their way into Jogl and then Xith3d?

This is not an urgent question, more generally speaking.
Offline elias

« Reply #1 - Posted 2003-12-02 13:33:21 »

Well for one thing, there's already a platform independent shader API: ARB_fragment_program/ARB_vertex_program. No need for Cg or GL2 shaders.

- elias

Offline Yuri Vl. Gushchin

Speak Java!

« Reply #2 - Posted 2003-12-02 13:34:50 »

Hi,

I was thinking to implement porgrammable shaders (both pixel and vertex) support. For me this looks very similar to other fixed-pipeline shaders with some differences.

After making some investigation in this area, I came to the point where I had to decide which level of support should be added to Xith3D: low-level programming (i.e. support for extensions like NV_vertex_program and ARB_vertex_program), Cg (which is only supported by NVidia) or new OpenGL 2.0 - style high level shader programming language.