Games in Android Showcase (133)
games submitted by our members
Games in WIP (603)
games currently in development
News: Read the Java Gaming Resources, or peek at the official Java tutorials

Home     Help   Search   Login   Register   
Pages: [1]
  ignore  |  Print  
  Webstarting: the statistics  (Read 5757 times)
Online princec

« JGO Spiffy Duke »

Medals: 437
Projects: 3
Exp: 16 years

Eh? Who? What? ... Me?

« Posted 2003-12-01 22:11:30 »

Now I've been collecting logs from Alien Flux for a couple of months it's time to share with you a few stats. The good bit about these stats is that they're quite impartial and the downloads have come from all over the place - a very random and large sample of a very vaguely targeted audience.

First up, here's the number of Win32 exe install downloads versus Webstarted installations that worked:

Win32: 1701
Webstarted: 237
Ratio: 88% Win32, 12% Webstarted

Secondly, here's the same numbers but for installations that failed to run:

Win32: 1289
Webstarted: 139
Ratio: 90% Win32, 10% Webstarted

So it would seem that Java users' driver updating habits are more or less the same as the rest of the great unwashed. (The overall failure rate is 31% of installations fail to run -  99% of these were due to missing or broken OpenGL drivers).

Now also for your delectable perusal, some video card stats (top 7 vendors only):

Vendor%
Nvidia40
Intel11
ATI9
SiS4
S34
Trident1
Matrox1

Notez bien the total domination of NVidia in the stats. And now finally an operating system breakdown. This is primarily only of interest to get the relative numbers of Linux users to Windows users...

OS%
Windows XP54
Windows 9817
Windows 200014
Windows ME6
Linux2

I notice there's a single Windows 2003 log Wink