Java-Gaming.org    
Featured games (91)
games approved by the League of Dukes
Games in Showcase (580)
games submitted by our members
Games in WIP (500)
games currently in development
News: Read the Java Gaming Resources, or peek at the official Java tutorials
 
    Home     Help   Search   Login   Register   
Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7] 8
  ignore  |  Print  
  Overbind  (Read 57989 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Offline Cero
« Reply #180 - Posted 2012-11-02 17:02:41 »

not sure how some of you are so impressed with these times.
Never seen speedruns of video games ? =D

half-life 2 in like 90 minutes  Pointing

Offline vinagame

Innocent Bystander





« Reply #181 - Posted 2012-11-03 14:35:16 »

UPDATED !
Clic => Click
And first level easier
good Roll Eyes game java
Offline Mike

JGO Wizard


Medals: 69
Projects: 2
Exp: 5 years


Java guru wanabee


« Reply #182 - Posted 2012-11-04 23:21:49 »

What about sharing some tactics to see if we can make quicker times? Smiley

This is how I am getting my times. Is anyone getting good times by doing anything differently?

Challenge 1

Straight forward, always pull.

Challenge 2

Turn your back against 3 and push from 1 and 2. Push away from 3, 4, 5, 6, constantly with your back against the target.

Challenge 3

Pull yourself up to the highest section of squares and push from the highest squares as much as you can to fly over the room to the exit.

Mike

My current game, Minecraft meets Farmville and goes online Smiley
State of Fortune | Discussion thread @ JGO
Games published by our own members! Check 'em out!
Legends of Yore - The Casual Retro Roguelike
Offline Troncoso

JGO Coder


Medals: 20



« Reply #183 - Posted 2012-11-06 07:51:34 »

When I try to play my game doesn't load properly. Is this just because I'm using a weak machine?

This is what I see: (Using Chrome on a 2 year old Sony Vaio)

Offline Tim Spekler
« Reply #184 - Posted 2012-11-06 19:40:24 »

@Troncoso: Thanks for warning me. I first thought this bug was related to GLSL, but now I've got the feeling the origin is texture loading. Did you have the same problem on the menu? (by the way, I made a small update of the texture loader, maybe the bug is fixed now, but I can't be sure Tongue)
Offline Kroniz

Senior Newbie





« Reply #185 - Posted 2012-11-10 19:45:08 »

Tim, How to you make the levels of yours? I've opened your jar and I've found .SAV files making the levels up, But exactly how do you design the levels?
Offline Tim Spekler
« Reply #186 - Posted 2012-11-11 17:47:41 »

Actually you can't. What I do is asserting a boolean that allows me to fly in levels, place as many blocks as I wish and save the world. This editor is not really user-friendly  and is too "rulefree", so you can easily produce a bug if you don't respect some rules. As I know these rules, I don't have any problem, but this is the reason why I don't allow the editor to anyone.
The .sav file is my save format. It's a binary format so you can't modify it just by editing the text.
I'm sorry for the editor restriction. If I had to re-write the code entirely, this is one big thing that I would change so everyone could produce levels.
Offline Longor1996
« Reply #187 - Posted 2012-11-11 18:38:41 »

(This is my first Post & Im from Germany, so sorry for my bad English and strange grammatical errors!)

Just a Question:
Can i have the Format-Specification?
I wan't to try to make an Level Editor.
But for that i need to know how to read and write the .sav Files.

- Longor1996

PS: I've already written a lot of file-parsers, for Example: XML, NBT, Collada, BSP and a lot more.

Sorry for my bad English! That's because i am from Germany.
Offline Kroniz

Senior Newbie





« Reply #188 - Posted 2012-11-11 21:48:15 »

Well, By the way, I recommend obufuscating that source code. Anyone could happen to steal it without problems, A program like DJ could easily make a compile-able version of it.

Also, Thats some damn nice lighting engine.
Offline Jimmt
« League of Dukes »

JGO Kernel


Medals: 114
Projects: 4
Exp: 3 years



« Reply #189 - Posted 2012-11-11 22:00:37 »

Well, By the way, I recommend obufuscating that source code. Anyone could happen to steal it without problems, A program like DJ could easily make a compile-able version of it.

Also, Thats some damn nice lighting engine.
Obfuscation isn't going to stop the dedicated.
Games published by our own members! Check 'em out!
Legends of Yore - The Casual Retro Roguelike
Offline Longor1996
« Reply #190 - Posted 2012-11-11 23:04:15 »

@Tim Spekler

I've opened the Map Save-Files with the Windows Text-Editor, and found Java Import Signatures in it.
Doesn't that mean that you use the ObjectInput/Output Streams for your level System?
If thats so, one change in the Classes and you can't load your levels anymore because of the Serialization Stuff. (Correct me if im wrong)

- Longor1996


Edit:
By the Way, i love your Game! And i only know one other game that uses nearly the same concept.

Sorry for my bad English! That's because i am from Germany.
Offline Kroniz

Senior Newbie





« Reply #191 - Posted 2012-11-12 14:55:46 »


Obfuscation isn't going to stop the dedicated.

Well, It helps. But ofcourse, its up to tim.


Longor, By the way, There is a boolean in the code like mapeditorEnabled=false which basicly disables all kinds of map editing.
As tim said, he also have a freecam thing.
Offline Tim Spekler
« Reply #192 - Posted 2012-11-12 23:45:46 »

I just made an update to resolve the font problem. It is not perfect, but at least it won't be anoying  Tongue

@Longor1996: You won't be able to go anywhere without knowing how classes are made as I use Serialization to save my objects.
As I fixed serialVersionUID of Serializable classes, modification in class file does not make an incompatibility with previous saves. Plus I've written a "wrapper" to regenerate elements and improve compatibility.
I am now thinking I should deploy the game as an application and make some modification to open the level editor to everyone. You would be able to save your map. I won't provide anything to share it, but you would be able to put the file in the correct location to play it. I'll try to do that this weekend, if I can Wink
@Kroniz: I really don't want to obfuscate this game, but I appreciate your recommendation. Obfuscation would be a good way to protect my code, yet in most of the cases people won't be able to help me debugging my application.  Cheesy
Offline Kroniz

Senior Newbie





« Reply #193 - Posted 2012-11-13 00:07:29 »

Well then tim, I hope you dont mind if I keep some of it in my eclipse to see how it is made and learn from it.
Offline Longor1996
« Reply #194 - Posted 2012-11-13 14:13:39 »

Thank you!

I really would like to see an Level Editor!
If you wouldn't make an Editor, no Problem,
it's kind of my hobby to crack fileformats.
(And then i would just make an Editor for myself, did that already for other games)

- Longor1996

PS: I have the feeling my post here is full of grammatical errors, please correct me if you find any.

Sorry for my bad English! That's because i am from Germany.
Offline Tim Spekler
« Reply #195 - Posted 2012-11-13 23:15:19 »

MAJOR UPDATE!!  Grin
You can now download the application for linux and windows. I'll put a download link for Mac later on.
You can't play the Challenge mode with the application, BUT you can create worlds !! In the edit mode, press TAB to fly around and place blocks. Left click = place block. Right click = delete block. You can drag and drop to add/delete several blocks in the same time. Use arrows to change the element to add.
I made a file loader so you can easily save your world and open world from anyone.

Enjoy !

PS: Edit mode is only available for the application (not the applet)
Offline ReBirth
« Reply #196 - Posted 2012-11-14 02:54:53 »

Finally, windows download! Now I can play!

Offline Longor1996
« Reply #197 - Posted 2012-11-14 16:14:01 »

I want to hug you now!
Im going to Download this now.

- Longor1996

PS: You will probably get a lot of new fans now!

EDIT:
Just found a Bug i think:
- Go into Editor Mode
- Press Esc
- Press Menu (Main Menu)
- Press Resume
-> Game Crashes

You should disable the resume button when there is no World loaded.



EDIT 2:
Another Bug that is really killing my nerves:
- Go into Editor Mode
- Place some Blocks
- Press Esc
- Move you Mouse around a bit.
- Click resume
-> Lots of Blocks appered out of nowhere.

Its like the Place/Remove Mouse Listeners are still active when you are in the Pause Menu.
You should change that, because it makes it impossible to build any levels.

- Longor1996

PS: And the Light Calculation goes crazy sometimes.


EDIT 3:
I turned the Game into Pause Mode to go to the Toilet.
Then i come back, click Resume, and it crashes.

Good Thing i saved my World!

- Longor1996

PS: Is there some kind of debug log? Or a way to access the Java Console?

EDIT 4:
Another Bug:
- Go into Editor Mode
- Save the World
- Go into Playmode and open the World
-> You are in the Editor Mode!

I think you should set the Variable that checks if you are in Editor-mode to 'false' when you a World.

- Longor1996

Sorry for my bad English! That's because i am from Germany.
Offline Tim Spekler
« Reply #198 - Posted 2012-11-14 22:19:19 »

Thanks for your report Longor1996. I was actually expecting some bugs as the editor was not made to be opened to everyone and I did almost all necessary modifications in one night  Tongue
The first 3 bugs are related to the same bugs. So I corrected 2 bugs: one with "resume" button and one with the editor mode in play mode.
You must download again the application to get the update.
I did not mention one important thing: it is not possible to have multiple lava levels ! (well you can, but the lighting effect will be ugly  Undecided ). And also, you can not place more than 2500 magnet boxes (I think I don't check how many you place, so there might be a bug if you place 2501 boxes  Cheesy .. I'll check this out)
Offline matheus23

JGO Wizard


Medals: 97
Projects: 3


You think about my Avatar right now!


« Reply #199 - Posted 2012-11-14 22:28:57 »

Hm... That .sh looks very intresting... ôO...
Anyways, it seems to do not work...
Your name sounds german, so here is the original error message:

    $ ./overbind.sh
    bash: ./overbind.sh: /bin/sh^M: Defekter Interpreter: Datei oder Verzeichnis nicht gefunden

If I'm wrong: It says: "Defect Interpreter: File or Directory not found".

I'm not sure why it says "sh^M"... looked into the .sh and found nothing like that... strange...

See my:
    My development Blog:     | Or look at my RPG | Or simply my coding
http://matheusdev.tumblr.comRuins of Revenge  |      On Github
Offline Longor1996
« Reply #200 - Posted 2012-11-14 23:33:43 »

Thanks for fixing the Bugs.
I think i am now going to build a room with 2503 Magnet Boxes!

- Longor1996

Ps: Too Bad, its 23:30 o'clock in germany. Can't test it now.

Sorry for my bad English! That's because i am from Germany.
Offline sproingie
« Reply #201 - Posted 2012-11-15 01:57:00 »

I'm not sure why it says "sh^M"... looked into the .sh and found nothing like that... strange...

That's a carriage return.  This is a unix shell script that's been given DOS line endings, usually due to being written or edited on Windows.  The 'dos2unix' utility will convert the script, or you can also use perl:

1  
perl -pi -e 's/\r\n/\n/g' overbind.sh


This should, of course, be fixed upstream too.
Offline Tim Spekler
« Reply #202 - Posted 2012-11-15 19:26:05 »

I've decided to change the Linux file to a jar file. It should be easier.
And I think I will install linux OS because I really need to try if everything is fine on this platform !  Tongue
Offline Kroniz

Senior Newbie





« Reply #203 - Posted 2012-11-16 09:41:10 »

I have a suggestion, Add a gun model infront of the camera Smiley
It would look much nicer
Offline Longor1996
« Reply #204 - Posted 2012-11-16 14:51:00 »

A sudden Idea occurs!

How about a Force-Field Block?
It should kill you when you touch it.
That would be a nice addition.

- Longor1996

PS: I have lots of Ideas in mind to make the game even more fun.

Sorry for my bad English! That's because i am from Germany.
Offline masteryoom

JGO Coder


Medals: 5
Projects: 3


If you look closely, you might see it turning...


« Reply #205 - Posted 2012-11-19 10:23:41 »

Thank you!

I really would like to see an level editor!
If you wouldn't like to make an editor, no problem, it's kind of my hobby to crack fileformats.
(And then I would just make an editor for myself, did that already for other games)

- Longor1996

PS: I have the feeling my post is full of grammatical errors, please correct me if you find any.
Grammar fixed.  Roll Eyes

Smiley
Offline Jimmt
« League of Dukes »

JGO Kernel


Medals: 114
Projects: 4
Exp: 3 years



« Reply #206 - Posted 2012-11-20 23:19:06 »

lots of foreigners on this forum, and frankly I care more about their coding skill than their grammar.
Offline sproingie
« Reply #207 - Posted 2012-11-21 00:47:01 »

He did ask for corrections, so it's quite polite to give them.  Helps in learning and all that.

Though, ahem, our proofreader did miss one: "I would really like to see a level editor"  Smiley

(Whether you use "a" or "an" is based solely on whether the next word starts with a consonant or a vowel sound.  Just don't get me started on "an historic moment")
Offline Cero
« Reply #208 - Posted 2012-11-21 01:58:42 »

The games's great.


OFF TOPIC:
Though, ahem, our proofreader did miss one: "I would really like to see a level editor"  :)
That was quite a common mistake for me too, because I always though that, the thing you are talking about matters - somehow, to this day I have to think "manually": "no only look at the next word", guess one of my english teachers fucked up on that one

(Whether you use "a" or "an" is based solely on whether the next word starts with a consonant or a vowel sound.  Just don't get me started on "an historic moment")
I didn't know that... sound like french:  an istroic moment  :D
Well there are always exceptions for thing like that: Pronouncing "the", is different when the next word starts vowel "thee". BUT its also when talking about any one specific thing: "I'm Rick James", "THE Rick James ?"

Offline Longor1996
« Reply #209 - Posted 2012-11-21 13:01:09 »

OnTopic:
Just a Question: Why does the Game crash after ~30 Minutes without any Warning?

OffTopic:
Please don't make a Offtopic Discussion just because i asked for Grammar correction!

- Longor1996

Sorry for my bad English! That's because i am from Germany.
Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7] 8
  ignore  |  Print  
 
 

 

Add your game by posting it in the WIP section,
or publish it in Showcase.

The first screenshot will be displayed as a thumbnail.

xsi3rr4x (50 views)
2014-04-15 18:08:23

BurntPizza (46 views)
2014-04-15 03:46:01

UprightPath (62 views)
2014-04-14 17:39:50

UprightPath (44 views)
2014-04-14 17:35:47

Porlus (61 views)
2014-04-14 15:48:38

tom_mai78101 (84 views)
2014-04-10 04:04:31

BurntPizza (142 views)
2014-04-08 23:06:04

tom_mai78101 (242 views)
2014-04-05 13:34:39

trollwarrior1 (201 views)
2014-04-04 12:06:45

CJLetsGame (208 views)
2014-04-01 02:16:10
List of Learning Resources
by SHC
2014-04-18 03:17:39

List of Learning Resources
by Longarmx
2014-04-08 03:14:44

Good Examples
by matheus23
2014-04-05 13:51:37

Good Examples
by Grunnt
2014-04-03 15:48:46

Good Examples
by Grunnt
2014-04-03 15:48:37

Good Examples
by matheus23
2014-04-01 18:40:51

Good Examples
by matheus23
2014-04-01 18:40:34

Anonymous/Local/Inner class gotchas
by Roquen
2014-03-11 15:22:30
java-gaming.org is not responsible for the content posted by its members, including references to external websites, and other references that may or may not have a relation with our primarily gaming and game production oriented community. inquiries and complaints can be sent via email to the info‑account of the company managing the website of java‑gaming.org
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Managed by Enhanced Four Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!