ignore  |  Print  
  A little about GUI  (Read 2803 times)
Offline Sammyster

Senior Newbie

Medals: 1

« Posted 2012-05-05 22:21:47 »

Hello there!

Just a few questions from a noob again Smiley

How do you guys go about when you design your game UI?
Is there any special library you use for this?
Simply drawing out shapes/images?
Any usefull tip?

So tell me your story unless it's a secret.
Thanks Smiley
Offline Vladiedoo
« Reply #1 - Posted 2012-05-05 22:28:00 »

Hi, I'm a noob too but I'd like to try and help.

If your new to making video games (like I am) it can be more beneficial to finish a project first and then go back and make everything look nice and pretty. Basic shapes, gradients, images, etc can be quick to make and provide the player with a strong understanding of what's going on.

Sorry if that doesn't help much, I've asked a lot of questions on this forum but haven't been able to help back yet x). You might want to make your question a bit more specific though, it will help advanced users answer your question better.

-Good luck!
Offline davedes
« Reply #2 - Posted 2012-05-05 22:54:01 »

GUI for a Java2D game is not really a simple thing.

Your options:
1. Depend on Swing/AWT for GUI. Really ugly, slow, will probably lead to headache down the road, etc.

2. Write your own GUI system from the ground up (custom widgets, texture atlases, font rendering, etc). A lot of work, especially for a beginner, and especially if you "just need UI".

Really... Why are people still using Java2D for games? Huh Unless your game is based on software rendering, it's really the wrong library to be using. Use LibGDX, Slick2D, or straight LWJGL if you want to make a game in Java.