Games in Android Showcase (114)
games submitted by our members
Games in WIP (563)
games currently in development
News: Read the Java Gaming Resources, or peek at the official Java tutorials

Home     Help   Search   Login   Register   
Pages: [1] 2
  ignore  |  Print  
  Research for 2D Java Game  (Read 5913 times)
Offline EvolvedMonkey

Senior Newbie

« Posted 2012-04-03 12:29:41 »

Dear Java-Gaming Smiley

I will graduate this year as a bachelor in applied informatics Smiley So I have about 3 years of programming experience.
Sadly I never had the time or chance to delve into the world of game development, I was always very busy on school projects which consisted of business applications.

I learned to program in Java / C# and ABAP (Sap development, that is actually my professional choice)

Now I finally have some more spare time and I would love to start developing a Java 2D engine along with an editor and actual game (or games).

First of all I will need some information about Java 2D game development. I already completed some C# XNA games, but I am not a big fan of XNA tbh. I always been more into Java development rather then .NET stuff.

Ok here are my first questions:

-Java:

What IDE is recommended for 2D game development?
Which Libs are recommended? Rendering? Graphics? Scripting? Networking?
What other tools will improve my overall design/coding experience?

-Engine:

My goal is to start with a simple engine, expanding it over time with new features. (my goal is to create 2D platformers/rpgs/run and gun/sidescrolling shooters etc)

Where should I start? Building a basic Tile-Engine?

-Editor/Game:

No real questions here atm. Of course, info is always welcomed upon.

Thanks for your time.
EvolvedMonkey-
Offline EvolvedMonkey

Senior Newbie

« Reply #1 - Posted 2012-04-03 17:47:49 »

Update: I found the faq.

So I am guessing.

Eclipse + Slick + Phys2D + LWJGL

Any info on my other questions would still be most welcome guys Smiley

Cheers,
EvolvedMonkey-