Games in Android Showcase (106)
games submitted by our members
Games in WIP (530)
games currently in development
News: Read the Java Gaming Resources, or peek at the official Java tutorials

Home     Help   Search   Login   Register   
Pages: [1]
  ignore  |  Print  
  Slot Racers - online multiplayer arcade shooter - in beta  (Read 3792 times)
Offline lazybearsoft

Senior Newbie

Projects: 1

« Posted 2012-02-12 02:00:16 »

Hi all,

This is my first attempt at a Java game, Slot Racers. It's actually a port from C++  code, with enhancements
by me. The original Slot Racers game was devleoped for the Atari 2600, was a 2-player shooter, in which each player
controlled a vehicle which could shoot bullets at the other player.  In it's C++ incarnation, the two players had to share
a keyboard on one computer. When porting this code to Java, I have added (among other things) the ability
to play against other players online. The game and server is currently in beta phase....I would appreciate if some folks
could give it a try and let me know if they run into any problems, or just have any suggestions for improving the
game. You can find my Java version of Slot Racers here:

http://slotracers.dreamhosters.com

Some notes:

• The game currently run as a Java applet within a browser. I have plans to port this code to run as an Android app, soon.
    When you first load the Slot Racers web page, the applet takes 2 or 3 minutes to load the first time. After the first time, it loads pretty quick. If I update the applet jar, then I have to go thru the 2-3 minute load again. I have no idea what the reason for the 1st time delay is.....the jar is only approx 100k. Maybe someone here can clue me in on why 1st time applet load takes sooooo long.