Games in Android Showcase (109)
games submitted by our members
Games in WIP (536)
games currently in development
News: Read the Java Gaming Resources, or peek at the official Java tutorials

Home     Help   Search   Login   Register   
Pages: [1]
  ignore  |  Print  
  Tips on street fighter like game  (Read 1472 times)
Offline cunkrlunken

Junior Newbie

« Posted 2012-01-02 21:00:36 »

Hi guys. I have an idea in mind for a street fighter like game, but much simpler.
I am an experienced web programmer and I like to make games for fun in my free time, cause it's much better than selecting stuff from a database and showing it on screen  Wink

I am not very familiar with Java yet but I have created some simple games; like a tetris game and a basic side scroller.

So street fighter. I am just looking for some hints and advice to put me in the right direction. I am guessing these kinda games are all about collision detection (on a much more complex scale than tetris Wink), but what else should I look for? How can I get started?

Thanks for any advice.
Offline Damocles
« Reply #1 - Posted 2012-01-02 21:15:25 »

You actually dont need a fancy collion detection.
Everything can be expressed by the single dimension "distance" between the 2 sprites.

So A Kick/Punch will land when the player punching is within a specific distance range to its opponent.

Such a game is more about making a matrix of combinations/events. You could handcraft that.

Lets say player1 does action A(punch straigt), and player 2 is in pose B (arms down), the action will be successfull if they
have the distance C (+-30cm) to each other, else the attacker punches into the void.

To juice up the gameplay you should make complex actions chains,
such that each action would have a working counteraction (block, or step back)
And each missed action leves the attacker in a vunurable pose, that has a fitting counterattack.