Games in Android Showcase (118)
games submitted by our members
Games in WIP (567)
games currently in development
News: Read the Java Gaming Resources, or peek at the official Java tutorials

Home     Help   Search   Login   Register   
Pages: [1]
  ignore  |  Print  
  Music + Sound Effects!  (Read 3146 times)
Offline counterp

Medals: 11

« Posted 2011-08-17 09:25:31 »

Aghaghfahgahgdhsh

I think it's about time I added sound to my game.

But... I have no idea where to even start. Are there any good tutorials for making music, and tutorials for making sound effects (like jumping, footsteps, etc) for a complete NOOB who has no idea what they're doing?

Preferably something very simple..
Online kappa
« League of Dukes »

JGO Kernel

Medals: 77
Projects: 15

★★★★★

« Reply #1 - Posted 2011-08-17 09:46:49 »

Bfxr is a nice little tool for making sound effects and doesn't require much skill to use.
Offline atombrot

Medals: 10
Projects: 1

« Reply #2 - Posted 2011-08-17 10:00:36 »

Making music is a big world and if you're new to it it may be best, if you look for someone, that creates your desired soundtrack.

First of all you should make a concept, what role music and sound fx are playing in your game. Maybe think of a melodie or a main concept, that will be associated with your game.
Then think of, what different types of music you need. Take an rpg as an example. There you could have different type and styles of music, depending on your current situation. When the player character is in a fight, it might be appropriate to bring threatening, nerveuse music, that gives the player a hint, that something bad is about to happen Wink When the player is in a tavern, the music might imitate the happy and drunken mood of the tavern. If you are exploring ancient ruins, a slow and mystical soundtrack might be more appropriate.