Games in Android Showcase (106)
games submitted by our members
Games in WIP (533)
games currently in development
News: Read the Java Gaming Resources, or peek at the official Java tutorials

Home     Help   Search   Login   Register   
Pages: [1]
  ignore  |  Print  
  New to game programming  (Read 3362 times)
Offline jparril1

« Posted 2010-12-02 02:55:53 »

Hey guys.

So Ive been programming in Java for a few years now, but nothing game related. I am quite comfortable programming in Java.. although I do know Python and C/C++ on a beginner/medium level. Since I want to do game programming, and since its a notoriously difficult thing to do, I thought it would make sense to use the language that Im the best with. So, how can I start game programming in Java? What libraries will I need for 2D games? It seems like other languages are more clear cut... for C++ Id just use SDL, for Python I'd use pygame, etc. Mind you I dont want some pre fabricated game engine... just the API to access graphics, sound, input, etc. Basically I want to do as much on my own as I can, because its all about learning for me. Once I have a library, where do I start? People have said do something simple like tetris or breakout... but I wouldnt even know where to start those. Ive looked at LWJGL and it seems like what Im looking for. But Im also confused as to the difference between using something like that, or using the AWT and applets to create a game? Some of the tutorials Ive seen use threads and the AWT rectangles and circles to draw animations to make simple pong games and such. Should I be doing something like this instead of getting a library? Im so confused... I just want to get started on the right track. Thanks
Offline princec

JGO Kernel

Medals: 342
Projects: 3
Exp: 16 years

Eh? Who? What? ... Me?

« Reply #1 - Posted 2010-12-02 03:27:31 »