Games in Android Showcase (133)
games submitted by our members
Games in WIP (603)
games currently in development
News: Read the Java Gaming Resources, or peek at the official Java tutorials

Home     Help   Search   Login   Register   
Pages: [1]
  ignore  |  Print  
  A strategy for designing chess graphics  (Read 3004 times)
Offline fguy

Senior Newbie

« Posted 2009-09-21 15:50:36 »

This is my first try to do something meaningful with Graphics2D, previously I have worked only with the Graphics class. It's not so much that I need help, rather I just want to bounce my ideas off the board and see what comes up.

OK, the goal is to improve my chess graphics. The idea is to learn graphics, not just create a better mousetrap. Eventually I want a system where the user can choose beteen piece designs. Some of the designs will be created using the GeneralPath class, others will be from externally created images, such as jpegs.

It seems to me that since I want to switch between both methods of design, then rather than drawing a GeneralPath object directly to the drawing surface, a JPanel, I should proceed as follows...

1. Draw the board directly on to the JPanel. This means the dark and light squares, not the pieces.
2. Create a BufferedImage object, then associate it with a Graphics2D context by using the createGraphics() method.
3. The BufferedImage should have a transparent background, so that a piece can be dragged without obscuring other pieces.
4. Use the usual methods for designing a GeneralPath object, except because of step 2 we are modifying a BufferedImage.
5. When I actually want to visually render the BufferedImage object, I will use a drawImage method on another graphics context which is the chess board. Since we are drawing images to the board and not GeneralPaths, it seems to me there is no need to make the board Graphics2D, plain old Graphics will do.