Games in Android Showcase (106)
games submitted by our members
Games in WIP (533)
games currently in development
News: Read the Java Gaming Resources, or peek at the official Java tutorials

Home     Help   Search   Login   Register   
Pages: [1]
  ignore  |  Print  
  First game, experienced Java programmer - design questions  (Read 2049 times)
Offline DrunkenLizard

Junior Newbie

« Posted 2009-07-03 21:06:13 »

Hi all, I've wanted to get into game development for as long as I have been programming, my first language is Java so I prefer to program in my native tongue, even though it probably isn't the best choice for game development in general. Aaaanyway to cut a long story short, I want to try and make a solid and robust game version of the card game Rummy (similar to Gin Rummy). I've been hammering away at the project for a few months now, and during that time I have learnt a few things - mostly how little I know about programming games - but I've become familiar with all the basics, and how to implement them in Java - writing a "game loop", double buffering, BufferedImages, etc.

My real problem is trying to settle on a broader design for the system. What I want is for it to be nice and flexible, so that I can play around with adding new features to it in the future (I'm thinking of writing several different types of AI, a replay feature, possibly a network multiplayer option and maybe eventually a multi-game server). This means that the design needs to treat each player in the game as abstractly as possible, and hence taking player input as abstractly as possible.