Games in Android Showcase (132)
games submitted by our members
Games in WIP (603)
games currently in development
News: Read the Java Gaming Resources, or peek at the official Java tutorials

Home     Help   Search   Login   Register   
Pages: [1]
  ignore  |  Print  
  Event handling with custom UI  (Read 1501 times)
Offline donmc

Junior Devvie

Projects: 1

« Posted 2008-07-13 20:22:30 »

hello,
I'm working on a 2d game.  I'm new to java.  I have a frame object in the class that contains my entry point.  I have keyboard and mouse listeners attached to that object.  I'm running in fullscreen mode, utilizing a typical double-buffer strategy.  I'm using vanilla java 2d from AWT.  My event handling works fine, but as I begin to flesh out my program i have an issue.

My game has a startup screen, an options screen, and the main game screen.  In addition i'm rolling my own UI.  I won't know ahead of time if a player is clicking on the terrain, or an object on the terrain, or perhaps the titlebar to a window, a button, and so on.

I *could* use the event handlers attached to my frame object and check numerous variables to see what screen the user is currently viewing and decide which events I wish to handle.  This gets a bit harder with the main game screen and mouse clicks as I would have situations where I might have a window atop the terrain and I would want the action associated with the window and not the terrain beneath it.  I know I could do all this in the frame's event handlers, but the code would quickly become a mess with lots of variable tracking, UI tracking, and if statements!