Home     Help   Search   Login   Register   
Pages: [1]
  ignore  |  Print  
  First Post  (Read 1613 times)
Offline dyingstar90

Junior Newbie

« Posted 2008-03-03 21:03:21 »

Hey guys,

I'm very new to game programming (as in, I just decided a few weeks ago I would like to try my hand at it). My java background is mainly logic and string parsing, so I don't know that much about animation except for some of the basic swing objects. I have searched on the web for some of the simple stuff, but it seems most of the good information is in more expensive books (which I was hoping to avoid, if possible).

I don't really have any ideas, I just thought I would try my hand at style similar to the old Final Fantasy games. I don't know how hard those games are to program, compared to side-scrollers or whatever, but they seem more interesting than a side scroller to me.

The first step (I suppose) is to get acquainted with basic animation as I know the least about that (well, I don't know much about sound either, but I think animation should come first). I have looked on the web and searched through the forums, but I am still unclear which method is the fastest: bufferedimage, volitaleimage, image, memorysourceimage, bufferstrategy, etc...  Is bufferstrategy the only one that supports page flipping and blitting? How important is hardware acceleration?

I also have a general question about animation: is it more efficient to copy a series of stored pictures for animation (by that I mean store the pictures externally from the program) or have the computer draw each image, pixel by pixel, with the drawing information embedded in the program itself.

I am sure my questions have been answered before, but I seem to have trouble finding the answers. Also, If I am posting in the wrong place, I apologize. One of the admins can move my thread.

Thanks guys Tongue
Stephen
Offline Kakashi266

Junior Devvie

« Reply #1 - Posted 2008-03-04 22:33:55 »