Games in Android Showcase (107)
games submitted by our members
Games in WIP (535)
games currently in development
News: Read the Java Gaming Resources, or peek at the official Java tutorials

Home     Help   Search   Login   Register   
Pages: [1]
  ignore  |  Print  
  Best Java OpenGL Binding?  (Read 2698 times)
Offline dinaharchery

Junior Newbie

« Posted 2008-01-02 14:46:27 »

Hello all,

I am fairly new to the Java 3D Graphics environment and have a quick question:

What is the general consensus as to the best Java OpenGL Binding as far as efficiency and operations available?

I hear different opinions as to JOGL or Java3D.  I would like something that meshes well with the Java Swing API.

Thanks.
Offline princec

JGO Kernel

Medals: 343
Projects: 3
Exp: 16 years

Eh? Who? What? ... Me?

« Reply #1 - Posted 2008-01-02 15:44:56 »

The choice is between LWJGL and JOGL; Java3D is a scene graph. Functionally LWJGL and JOGL are more or less identical. I use LWJGL.

Cas Smiley

Offline bienator

OutOfCoffeeException

« Reply #2 - Posted 2008-01-02 17:09:05 »

I would like something that meshes well with the Java Swing API.

If you want to mix Swing/Java2D with OpenGL I would recommend JOGL for you as low level binding. Just browse through https://jogl-demos.dev.java.net/ there should be a webstartable demo which demonstrates the interoperability between the APIs.

Games published by our own members! Check 'em out!
Legends of Yore - The Casual Retro Roguelike
Offline darkprophet

Go Go Gadget Arms

« Reply #3 - Posted 2008-01-02 18:29:28 »

I have used both JOGL and LWJGL and have both of them working in my engine, what I can say is that JOGL forces you to have a particular class architecture because of the GLEventListener...