Games in Android Showcase (110)
games submitted by our members
Games in WIP (550)
games currently in development
News: Read the Java Gaming Resources, or peek at the official Java tutorials

Home     Help   Search   Login   Register   
Pages: [1]
  ignore  |  Print  
  Issues with BlueJ- compile time, exporting project to Eclipse  (Read 1547 times)
Offline Blue

Junior Newbie

« Posted 2007-10-13 02:46:07 »

Hello all, I'm working on an RPG along the lines of Rogue or ADOM, and I've run into a couple of questions I've been unable to resolve on my own. There may be an obvious solution to this, I don't yet know much about Java (or programming in general). Rest assured that though I know very little now I am studying as much as I can online. I'm also taking a Java class at school this semester. Please forgive my temporary ignorance.

(1) Up until a few days ago my project compiled almost instantly. I've gradually been adding classes and code, and now suddenly the compile times have increased to around five minutes. I've read only a little about using a script to compile more efficiently- could that be a possible solution? For reference the old versions still compile quickly, the slowness is restricted to newer versions of the project.

(2) I've heard good things about Eclipse, and I've decided I'd like to export my project and continue developing with Eclipse. I found a BlueJ plugin called 'Exporter' that has been recommended for doing just that. I've exported the project to a folder, and it generated some sort of xml file (is this an ant script?). Needless to say I don't know Eclipse well yet. I haven't been able to figure out how to import the project. I've been able to open the individual files, but not the project itself. I found an 'import' option that works for existing Eclipse projects. There doesn't seem to be one for non-Eclipse projects. I feel stupid for asking this, but where did they hide the 'import' option? I feel a little lost.