News: Read the Java Gaming Resources, or peek at the official Java tutorials

Home     Help   Search   Login   Register   
Pages: [1]
  ignore  |  Print  
  Collision Strategies  (Read 2449 times)
Offline ravenger

Senior Newbie

« Posted 2006-09-18 20:48:23 »

Earlier this year i was working on a pacman game (http://www.java-gaming.org/forums/index.php?topic=12086.0) for a course in AI at the university im studying at, roughly based on Kevin Glass his Space Invaders tutorial. I finished it and got an A+ for it of which im quite proud, but since im following a course on Design Patterns now and since i have plans to do an internship at a major gamedeveloper and thus need a nice portfolio, ive decided to implement some of them into my Pacman game to make the code cleaner and the game extendable.

Since i still use the original collision detection methods from the tutorial, something like this;
if(pacman.collidesWith(x)){
   pacman.collidedWith(x);
   x.collidedWith(pacman);
}

It also still uses the instanceof, for example here in my GhostEntity class;
public void collidedWith(Entity other) {
   if(other instanceof PacmanEntity) {
      finalPath.clear();
   }
}

Point is that ive come to the conclusion that using instanceof is a prove of flaud design in this case, and ive decided to replace this collidedWith method by implementing collision strategies somehow on the hand of the Strategy pattern (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Strategy_pattern). What if i could do something like this, and make derived classes for each entity that needs to have a collisionstrategy:
public interface CollisionStrategy {

public void collidedWith(GhostEntity other);
   public void collidedWith(PacmanEntity other);
   public void collidedWith(WallEntity other);
   public void collidedWith(DotEntity other);

}

For instance we have the PacmanCollisionStrategy which looks like this;
public class PacmanCollisionStrategy implements CollisionStrategy {

private PacmanGame game;