News: Read the Java Gaming Resources, or peek at the official Java tutorials

Home     Help   Search   Login   Register   
Pages: [1]
  ignore  |  Print  
  jogl 2d newbie  (Read 3205 times)
Offline tortoise

<3 Shmups

« Posted 2003-07-10 11:47:42 »

Hi, I'm very new to gl and jogl (and debated posting this here or newless cluebies). I want to use jogl for my 2D game so it will run well on more than just Windows. But in my research I've come up with some questions...

I'm a little stumped as to where the GL class resides? I have downloaded the jogl source out of cvs. There's no GL.java in jogl, and searching for things like "class GL" or "interface GL" turns up nothing. I assume all gl* functions from the standard C implementation of openGL would be found in the GL class? Searching for things like glBegin show a lot of other classes using the method, but not where it's originating from.

What about glDrawPixels, glBitmap, etc? I also was unable to find those as well. I am curious how much of the 2D side of openGl is implemented, or if I'm even on the right track at all.

In doing some small toy programs with jogl, I can't get the color to change no matter what I do. For example I stripped the Gears demo down and replaced drawing the gears with just drawing a few polys, I have something like:

public void display(GLDrawable drawable)
{
       // glClearColor set to black
     gl.glclear( GL.GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT );

gl.glColor3f( 0.0f, 1.0f, 0.0f );
      gl.glBegin( GL.GL_POLYGON );
          gl.glVertex2f( 0.0f, 0.0f );
          gl.glVertex2f( 1.0f, 0.0f );
          gl.glVertex2f( 0.0f, 1.0f );
      gl.glEnd();
      gl.glFlush();
}

but no matter what the triangle is always a dark red. Weird that's dark red, I'd think if anything it'd be (1.0, 0.0, 0.0) red, I've experimented with specifying the color at other times and such with no luck.