Games in Android Showcase (107)
games submitted by our members
Games in WIP (536)
games currently in development
News: Read the Java Gaming Resources, or peek at the official Java tutorials

Home     Help   Search   Login   Register   
Pages: [1]
  ignore  |  Print  
  Newbie needs advice on JOGL and networking interface  (Read 953 times)
Offline Cyclonis

Senior Newbie

« Posted 2006-03-23 10:24:58 »

Hello everyone, I have been looking at these forums for some months now, thought I would start being more active as of now.

I am an aerospace student and have my own company building internet applications (shopping carts etc.) For my education I do a lot of programming (I am majoring in aerospace simulation). I have good experience with PHP, Matlab, Javascript, C++, openGL, openAL and have been very active with Java now for about 8 months. I made a 3d driving simulator for my internship (still working on it untill april 23) using C++ and openGL,openAL. Before that I have made 2 little games using Java2D

Because I am a big fan of Linux (Ubuntu)  I want to make it my goal to make several small and simple games using Java so people on all platforms could play them. I have made a little tank battle game in Java2D in about 2 days which you can download here:
It is my second attempt at making a game in Java and is based on an old NES game called BattleCity
I am planning to expand this game a little more and in my free time I want to make little 2D games like these, however more entertaining of course.

I want to ask a few questions and some advice:

- Where can I find some free graphics and character animations? I am more into programming and do not like to spend too much time on the graphics, although I can do them pretty well if I have to