Games in Android Showcase (107)
games submitted by our members
Games in WIP (536)
games currently in development
News: Read the Java Gaming Resources, or peek at the official Java tutorials

Home     Help   Search   Login   Register   
Pages: [1]
  ignore  |  Print  
  need advice on learning game coding  (Read 1042 times)
Offline mixandgo

Junior Newbie

« Posted 2006-02-04 11:44:46 »

hello,

I am just learning java and I like board games very much so I decided I should go and try building some "web browser board games" like poker, blackjack, roulette etc.  Could anyone guide me on what should I use ? like which libraries, what java version, etc !

Thank you !
Offline Alan_W

JGO Knight

Medals: 8
Projects: 3

Java tames rock!

« Reply #1 - Posted 2006-02-04 16:27:52 »

I would suggest coding for Java 1.4.2 rather than 1.5 as it has a larger installed user base.  If you are building applets, then you can't really use external libraries (without getting the user to install stuff manually), so you just have the standard libraries.  However for a board game this is just fine.

I am assuming that the games will be stand-alone. i.e. not multiplayer.  Multiplayer is tricky to do for a first project & also needs a machine to run a server for the game.

Roulette would be a fine choice to learn on.  Here are some thoughts.  You could draw the wheel using Paint Shop Pro, Photoshop or even windows Paint.  The write some code to rotate it.  This will be a bit tricky.  Look at java.awt.Graphics2D class in the library perhaps. Some useful things are in there.   When you press a key, the wheel can spin up and then gradually slow down and stop.

Once that's working, you could add the spinning ball.  Making this move realistically could be tricky, but for starters, how about making it spin up and then spin down at a slightly slower rate than the wheel.  Thus the ball moves for a bit longer than the wheel.