Games in Android Showcase (223)
games submitted by our members
Games in WIP (813)
games currently in development
News: Read the Java Gaming Resources, or peek at the official Java tutorials

Home     Help   Search   Login   Register   
Pages: [1]
  ignore  |  Print  
  Games in Introductory Computer Science  (Read 5752 times)
Offline purpleguitar

Junior Devvie

« Posted 2005-12-10 18:15:59 »

Greetings all

I am a professor of computer science, and I'm always looking for exciting new projects to engage and challenge my students.  I'm a gamer, and I enjoy using games to teach concepts of computer science.  This semester, in my CS1 class, my students wrote a text-based adventure game set in a local state park; this project was based on John Estell's SIGCSE Nifty assignment, which you can read about here: http://nifty.stanford.edu/2002/EstellNifty2002/

I also presented my students with the Robo Battle Pigs AI Challenge, which I wrote about here: http://www.java-gaming.org/forums/index.php?topic=11750.0  Unfortunately, few students took part in the RBP AI Challenge, which I attribute to the fact that it was an optional part of an optional assignment given at the end of an already-busy semester; we'll try again next semester.

I started this thread to pick the collective brain for new ideas on games in computer science education.  Did you develop any simple (CS1/CS2) games that helped you understand deeper concepts of CS?  Do you have any ideas for such projects that would be exciting, engaging, and challenging, but also educational and solvable within a few weeks in CS1 or CS2?

Thank you for any thoughts you wish to share.  I recently registered here, and I'll be floating around the forums to join in the discussion as well.
Offline Raghar

Junior Devvie

Ue ni taete 'ru hitomi ni kono mi wa dou utsuru

« Reply #1 - Posted 2005-12-10 20:15:14 »

What is CS1/CS2.

I doubt you mean that submarine sonar term.
Offline aldacron

JGO Coder

Medals: 20
Exp: 18 years