Hi !
Featured games (85)
games approved by the League of Dukes
Games in Showcase (636)
Games in Android Showcase (178)
games submitted by our members
Games in WIP (686)
games currently in development
News: Read the Java Gaming Resources, or peek at the official Java tutorials
   Home   Help   Search   Login   Register   
  Show Posts
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 11
1  Discussions / Miscellaneous Topics / Re: Starcraft 2 on an Atom Z3775 or Celeron N3150? on: 2015-11-26 03:31:57
Also, check to see if you can get a windows 7 or 8 key cheaper, you might be able to save a little, it should be able to upgrade to windows 10 if you get the computer before the 1 year free upgrade runs out.
2  Discussions / Miscellaneous Topics / Re: Starcraft 2 on an Atom Z3775 or Celeron N3150? on: 2015-11-25 12:53:20
If you are really going for the cheapest computer you can get.

Look into a Intel Pentium g3258.

In USD, as euros are probably closer to USD then AUD.

Intel Pentium g3258 - $60
8gb ram - $40
case - $20-$50
motherboard - $80 (May need a bit more to get a good motherboard that you can overclock well with)
CPU cooler - $30-60 (Would probably be wise to get a good CPU cooler, so you can get a good overclock)

May as well put your GT430 in. The GT430 would probably be better then the hd graphics (HD 3000 I think the g3258 has).

If you decide for a gtx 750TI, it would probably be wise to pay the extra for a gtx 950 or a gtx960 for the little extra.

I remember hearing ages ago back when the g3258 was not long released, that when overclocked, it was comparable to a i5 2500 (I think 2500, maybe something else).

Found this running of the integrated GPU on the g3258 at max detail:
3  Discussions / General Discussions / Re: SMF is falling apart. on: 2015-11-16 23:25:00
Clicking read more, when you press the "You have recevied n medals"


8: Undefined index: 101075_125405
File: /home/jgo/public_html/Themes/default/languages/Manual.english.php (manual_intro sub template - eval?)
Line: 75
4  Discussions / Miscellaneous Topics / Re: What are the viable alternatives to Sourceforge? on: 2015-10-28 09:15:07
I think the best solution may be one of the following:

Write your own repository hosting service, to ensure nothing will ever change.

Or for backing up code, print each page to paper.

Every company may change, so either choose the one that provides the best features and appeals to you the most, or write your own custom repository hosting service with the features you wish, to ensure you, as a user have control over the direction of the development for the tool.

Just because one paying customer doesn't want a company to change, doesn't mean they will listen to 1 out of their entire user base. And the other users may like the direction its heading, or not really care as long as there product is still great.
5  Discussions / Miscellaneous Topics / Re: What I did today on: 2015-10-23 07:51:10
Suggest me a good programmers font? I'm using Consolas.

I think the obvious answer is Comic Sans.
6  Game Development / Newbie & Debugging Questions / Re: Did Java 8 is not allow overload anymore ? on: 2015-10-21 11:02:47
That is generics, not overloading, overloading was never in java.

simply, overloading changes what +, -, += etc do.

Generics still exist, your probably doing something that does not use generics.

What is it your trying to use it for?

EDIT: I think I may of read it wrong, with seeing the < > and assuming it was generics.

I am assuming you mean method overloading.

You probably just copied pasted the exact method description, and expected it work.

public void test(int x) { System.out.println(x); }
public void test(int x) { System.out.println(x + 1); }

I am guessing you did something like that, where it does not know what method to call, I have never got that message.

That or your making a generic method as well

public void test(int x) { System.out.println(x); }
public void test(T x) { System.out.println(x); } //where T is your type

and you set your type as a int, so its just 2 methods, that take the exact same parameters.
7  Discussions / General Discussions / Re: Windows 10 on: 2015-08-08 10:29:45
I have yet to see an animation suffering from a lag spike, it all seems pretty smooth for me so far.

The title bar does look a little bigger, and just putting file explorer ontop of chrome, its like a few pixels bigger.

Putting windows explorer on top of chrome, and using the X shows that windows explorers tile bar is 5 pixels bigger then chrome.
But chrome's title bar is the same size as windows 7.
Also Visual Studio is smaller then windows explorer title bar too, about the same size as chrome, so windows 7 size.

Only problem I have is with the snap, the edge between multi monitors is now snappable, you need to move a window at a certain speed to move it across.

even with my mouse at a fairly high speed, I still seem to get stuck by it a fair bit.

Also the corners of each of my monitors are "solid" on windows 7, I could put my mouse to the top, and drag it from one monitor to the other, but now it gets stuck on the corner of my monitor between the two screens, as if it was only one screen.

Performance, I think my computer actually improved with Windows 10. I did have some game performance issues 10 mins after upgrading, the game would go really low fps every now and again. but after turning my compute off after updating, I have had no problems.

I seemed to be keep a more stable higher FPS in GTAV, in certain parts I would drop down to 50-55 and sit there, but I seemed to sit at 63 a fair bit, to begin with when I was checking my FPS, didnt keep an eye on it though.

General computer performance seems fine as well.
2 desktops open (the virtual desktops they added).
Main desktop consisting of, steam, windows explorer, 6 tabs on chrome, a dvd player program,, eclipse, visual studio, epic games launcher, unreal engine 4 open, in play mode on the game, fraps, and playing we shall wake at 60 fps with no fps drop on ultra settings, and minecraft open up in chat so the game keeps updating and rendering running at 150 fps.

second desktop consts of 5 chrome tabs open.

I think your install may of been bad, not actually windows 10.
I did have a problem for a few days, once a day my task bar would go not responding, and I had to hold the power button in to to get it to respond back (or at least it didn't fix after like 2 mins of waiting so I gave up waiting), but I havnt had that issue since like 2-3 days after upgrading to windows 10.

I have been on windows10 since the day it got released.

I saw a video of a guy running windows 10 on a single core computer, and it seemed to perform really well as well link to video if anyone is interested, it is from a tech preview build from last year, so theoretically the performance should be even worse then it is now.
or a 10 year old laptop (according to him it is 10 years old, didn't check for myself) link to video.
8  Discussions / General Discussions / Re: Something wrong with LWJGL3? on: 2015-07-09 13:41:23
just you, works perfect for me.

edit: both worked
9  Discussions / General Discussions / Re: FFXIV refunds on Mac OS through poor performance - interesting nuggets... on: 2015-07-06 13:13:13
yeah, a quick search of that looks like Metal is coming to OS X 10.11.

I remember hearing about Metal, but I completely forgot about it until I just googled it.


I think its not very smart for them to move to Metal, I think if they want to replace OpenGL they should of moved to something more standard by adding Vulkan support (one site seems to say Vulkan may not be added to OS X, If they had an API that will be mainstream on mac (instead of there own API), they may get a lot more users, as games would more likely have a mac version available.
10  Discussions / General Discussions / Re: FFXIV refunds on Mac OS through poor performance - interesting nuggets... on: 2015-07-06 13:07:23
From what I believe Mantle is dead, so if they replace it with mantle, their replacing a active developed API with a dead API.

Maybe there going to replace it with Vulkan?
11  Game Development / Game Mechanics / Re: Rendering on: 2015-07-03 13:31:49
you cant do "to much in the constructor", you can run your entire game through the constructor if you really want to.

your stack trace failed because of "No OpenGL context found in the current thread.", which gives the impression that OpenGL has not yet been initialized.

Try and move where you load your textures, as this would be your issue, put it directly before you start your game loop, and it should work.
12  Game Development / Game Mechanics / Re: Rendering on: 2015-07-03 13:00:04
you got to start the OpenGL first before you can declare a texture, so creating a texture can not be your first thing, you must initialize OpenGL, then create your texture.

You are also correct, you want to reuse the same texture.
13  Game Development / Game Mechanics / Re: Rendering on: 2015-07-01 15:07:25
you can improve the performance by reducing the number of


calls you produce.


   public void render() { 

inside your Player class
   public void render() {
          GL11.glVertex2f(x, y);
          GL11.glVertex2f(x + width, y);
          GL11.glVertex2f(x + width, y + height);
          GL11.glVertex2f(x, y + height);

which would then put it all into one call, but you would not be able to change textures, so you would need to use a SpriteSheet, and produce the correct TexCoords for each sprite.


And yes, using VBO's would be better performance, but for your first OpenGL game, it should be enough. After you produce a game or two, and are a bit more familiar with OpenGL, learn how to use VBO's, unless if you wish to start now.
14  Discussions / Miscellaneous Topics / Re: What I did today on: 2015-07-01 14:51:50
Ages ago, I made a bot, that did some basic commands.

After starting to use IRC a bit more, and having no projects to work on, I decided to add an IRC connection to the bot I made.

I quickly found out how ugly my old bot code was at extending it to add extra functionality, so I rewrote the Server class to make it much easier to add new commands too.

The new design makes each new command its own class, which you then register it to the server (which controls the bots, and does the message processing).

was much easier, instead of adding a block of code inside of a new else if(...) statement, I could simply do this
server.register(new TestCommand());

if anyone wants to look at the source code, or use it, here is a link to the repository. There is a bit of untested code in there, but I think it should work. The untested code is around allow commands for only certain people, I changed it after uploaded it to github, realising it was not the best way that I had done it before.

current features are, WolframAlpha search (you got to supply that API key), create a google search, calculate an equation, set and get messages from a database, reply back when spoken too using the ChatterBot API that is connected to CleverBot by default.

some owner only features are, adding new bots, to a specified channel, specified name and a specified identifier (how most bots are !help, the identifier is '!'),  changing nicks, kicking bots, and setting a bot to reply to all messages that a certain user says (mostly used to set 2 bots to start a conversation between them).
15  Game Development / Game Mechanics / Re: Collision between different maps (2d lwjgl) on: 2015-06-14 15:11:58
If you had an exam question, java is pass by value.

Although it seems to be pass by reference, its not pass by reference, as long as you remember.

You can send your ArrayList to any class and modify it, and every other class will update it too. But if you set an ArrayList in one of your entities to null, it WILL NOT set every other reference to it to null.

EDIT: can replace ArrayList with any Object and the same thing applies.
16  Game Development / Game Mechanics / Re: Collision between different maps (2d lwjgl) on: 2015-06-14 14:23:41
From what I read your still a bit confused by javas approach to pass by value.

try this code out for example

public class Main {
   public static void main(String [] args) {
      Test a = new Test();
      a.a = 50;
      a.b = 60;
      System.out.println("passing a object to a method " + a.a + "  "+a.b);
      int d = 50;
      System.out.println("passing a primitive to a method "+d);

   public static void exampleA(Test b) {
      b.a *= 10;
      b.b *= 5;
      b = null;
   public static void exampleB(int c) {
      c = 500;


public class Test {
   public int a;
   public int b;

you can update variables inside of a object that you pass around, but you cant physical change where that object points to on the heap.

The object does get updated everywhere, but the primitive doesn't. Except for setting a object to null, that wont update it everywhere.
17  Game Development / Game Mechanics / Re: Collision between different maps (2d lwjgl) on: 2015-06-14 14:01:29
When can everyone just call it 'pass by pointer?' That's what it is; potential confusion completely circumvented.

I agree 'pass by pointer' would make it so much less confusing, but we can't having it be to easy for people, we have to make it as hard as possible.

Just like one of my lecturers, answers must be word by word correct to the textbook, wrote one word wrong and lost 3 marks, even though the word still made it work.

EDIT: and after rereading your post, I got to what you were saying, reading through it quickly then reading the last paragraph made it seem wrong, but probably better having the value part there for people to know.
18  Game Development / Game Mechanics / Re: Collision between different maps (2d lwjgl) on: 2015-06-14 13:50:57
So whenever you are passing any values/expressions of a reference type (everything except primitive types) around, you would pass a "reference" to that same object around. So everywhere you assign that same reference, it would mean the "exact same object".

To be correct, java is all pass by value.

Although you pass a reference into a method, it actually gets converted to a value, so primitives and objects are both passed by value.
19  Game Development / Newbie & Debugging Questions / Re: Scripting With Jython on: 2015-06-04 02:24:59
I have limited knowledge of Jython, but this is how I remember it.

You import the packages.
you dont need to use new infront of instantiating objects.

then it acts kinda like normal java using the method.

from javax.swing import *

def create:
   frame = JFrame("Window Name")
   frame.setSize(600, 600)

I am not too sure, exactly how you would fit it in, maybe the use of Singletons so you can always get the current instance of the class. And make a single class that would hold all your methods that you want to allow for your scripts to access.
20  Discussions / Miscellaneous Topics / Re: What I did today on: 2015-05-28 06:08:59
You haven't scratched the surface once it works. Especially the MySQL JDBC library is critically bugged and so far off the spec it's funny.

I managed to find no bugs in JDBC connecting to MySQL.

Though, my program was not complex, but I had all of JDBC up and running in about 30 mins, though I did have one problem, but I think that was my own mistake in writing the SQL code for creating a user, a created user wasn't able to see the database I created (I thought i granted all permissions for the database to the user). But it worked fine when I used root instead.


I did notice a flaw with MySQL Command Line, and MySQL Workbench though, as we had to swap implementations with another group.

I used the Command Line, and wrote my SQL scripts in Notepad++, where the other group used MySQL Workbench.

MySQL Command Line will let you go with some errors, where Workbench is really strict.


If you use Timestamp as a data type in MySQL, Workbench requires a default date, where the Command line does not require you to specify the default date.

So we had an issue where they didn't want to use the Command Line to avoid the error, so they edited the SQL script. well, 1 out of the 3 people in there group didn't want to use the Command Line.

It was really only query the database, as full implementation of our designed system would of taken longer then we had, as well as all the test cases and other various testing we need to do.

It was only a uni assignment, so I left it as root access, because we had to supply the .java files to allow others to modify the username, password and IP of the database if required.

21  Discussions / General Discussions / Re: Rayvolution's JGO Appreciation Thread (AKA: Free copies of Retro-Pixel Castles!) on: 2015-05-27 09:36:33
I would be interested in playing it.

I didn't want to buy it for myself yet, because I thought I would wait for it to be nearing completion before I did.
22  Discussions / Miscellaneous Topics / Re: What do you define as a programming language? on: 2015-05-01 10:50:09
This is another askyahoo situation isn't it? where no one have an opinion or thought on their own, instead they just go to sources to give the absolute definition.

Or your responses are well educated.

I am currently studying defining languages and such in Formal Languages and Automata class, which is done in Software Engineering and Computer Science at my uni.

EDIT: Touring machines are apart of Formal Languages and Automata.
23  Game Development / Game Mechanics / Re: [LibGDX] Cinematic text rendering on: 2015-03-21 03:25:17
I have never thought about how to implement it until now, so here is a way you could implement it.

First of all you do not want a loop. If you use a loop, its always going to render the entire string each frame.

Use an if statement, that checks to see if a certain amount of time has passed since the last character appended to the output.

Have a variable that stores the entire string, and append one character to the end of the output, and remove that character from the variable that stores the entire string.

Which should produce one character appearing at a time at a fixed time.
24  Game Development / Newbie & Debugging Questions / Re: Velocity Slide Effect on: 2015-03-18 05:13:46
make DAMP = a higher value?

using 10 as a example, before you apply the DAMP, it would be 10, then as soon as you apply DAMP, it would become 2.

maybe you should use a value that will not reduce it so dramatically. Which is the first thing you should of tried, trying different values, to make it be more to your liking.

at the moment, your reducing it to be 80% of the current value, which seems a little to high for a sliding.
25  Discussions / Miscellaneous Topics / Re: What I did today on: 2015-02-22 01:27:02
I finished all game play elements in my first android game! Woo! (Although they are very simple). Now just some simple sound and some ads and boom! google play store here I come! Pointing I'll post it here when it gets published.

Also, in LibGDX is there any way to call a method in my AndroidLauncher class from my core class?

Yes, add an interface to the AndroidLauncher (and other Launcher files to, just leave the method code blank).

Then pass the class to your core MyGdxGame class, and you can call the methods, if its android the code will execute, if its desktop or any other, it wont.

EDIT: this link here shows you how to implement what I was talking about, but when I added ad's the wiki page was outdated.
26  Game Development / Newbie & Debugging Questions / Re: Attempting to make my game prototype take screen shots via LIBGDX. on: 2015-02-12 00:54:52
you have to make a new instance of the class.

ScreenRecorder screenRecorder = new ScreenRecorder();

27  Game Development / Shared Code / Re: LibGDX Lightning Effect Code on: 2015-02-11 12:15:56
Also to make it simpler @Phased took out a performance enhancement where I use the Sqrt class with precalculated values to speed up the get distance calculation

Furthermore note that this code was not intended for third party use and was just part of my code base and I posted it, meaning it might still be clunky and there are some hardcoded values to some extend.

Actually, I just changed from my getDistance() to your original implementation.

Looking through the code again, in your original implementation, you decided to use the getDistanceAccurate() method, which is the code implemented in the one on this thread.

Your Trigonemtrics class had getDistanceAccurate() and getDistanceFast(), and your GFX class used getDistanceAccurate().

About the hard coded variables, there is a few, but I did mess around with them, and then numbers you chose in my opinion are the actual "magic number" they made it look the best in my opinion.

I was going to add a method to set them, so the user could customize it, but I didn't worry as it didn't really improve it.
28  Game Development / Shared Code / LibGDX Lightning Effect Code on: 2015-02-11 04:16:00
To an Android Game I am currently developing slowly, I thought a Lightning effect would look good to link and show something is in effect.

I first tried to create my own Lightning, but my first go didn't look exactly as I wanted it.

I remembered seeing a post about someone sharing some source code on a game, and decided to look for it.

After talking to Cero about his lightning code here, I went through with it and implemented it into my game.

Since implementing the code into my game, I decided to modify Cero's original code, to make it more friendly to use, by setting some methods to private and also adding a few duplicate methods to allow more control or less code required to use.

Source Code
Source Code can be found here

The GFX class is completely static, you do not need to create a new instance of it, just supply the texture once, and use it when you need to.

During your creation of the game, in the create() method add the line
GFX.setTexture(new Texture("image.png")); //set a texture for it to use, 1x1 white image is all that is required

Preview of the effect:

Default Chain Lightning
Click to Play

Red and Yellow Chain Lightning
Click to Play

Multi Coloured Chain Lightning
Click to Play

Chain Lightning in a random position
Click to Play

Default Sphere Lightning
Click to Play

Red and Yellow Sphere Lightning
Click to Play

Multi Coloured Sphere Lightning
Click to Play

Using a 1x1 white image will produce the lightning a little differently to what is seen in the previews, if you would like the image I used you can get it here

If you have any suggestions for improvements, let me know, and I will see what I can do.

Thanks to Cero for letting me use his code, the original can be found here.
29  Game Development / Newbie & Debugging Questions / Re: Android error: package android.os does not exist on: 2015-02-04 12:45:39
Do you have the Android SDK setup in eclipse?

Have you downloaded the Android API from the Android SDK Manager?
30  Game Development / Newbie & Debugging Questions / Re: True sprite centering libgdx on: 2015-01-27 05:16:46
Not knowing how much of your code works, if you want to just center it on your screen.

player.setPlayerPosition(( / 2 ) - (texture.getWidth() / 2), ( / 2 ) - (texture.getHeight() / 2));

Well, ray, just as i went to hit post, you replied.
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 11
Dwinin (63 views)
2015-11-07 13:29:08

Rems19 (77 views)
2015-10-31 01:36:56

Rems19 (69 views)
2015-10-31 01:32:37

williamwoles (104 views)
2015-10-23 10:42:59

williamwoles (91 views)
2015-10-23 10:42:45

Jervac_ (105 views)
2015-10-18 23:29:12

DarkCart (132 views)
2015-10-16 00:58:11

KaiHH (115 views)
2015-10-11 14:10:14

KaiHH (153 views)
2015-10-11 13:26:18

BurntPizza (167 views)
2015-10-08 03:11:46
Rendering resources
by Roquen
2015-11-13 14:37:59

Rendering resources
by Roquen
2015-11-13 14:36:58

Math: Resources
by Roquen
2015-10-22 07:46:10

Networking Resources
by Roquen
2015-10-16 07:12:30

Rendering resources
by Roquen
2015-10-15 07:40:48

Math: Inequality properties
by Roquen
2015-10-01 13:30:46

Math: Inequality properties
by Roquen
2015-09-30 16:06:05

HotSpot Options
by Roquen
2015-08-29 11:33:11 is not responsible for the content posted by its members, including references to external websites, and other references that may or may not have a relation with our primarily gaming and game production oriented community. inquiries and complaints can be sent via email to the info‑account of the company managing the website of java‑
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Managed by Enhanced Four Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!